Divine Hard-Boiled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Great recipe. Simple and easy. I've made this one several times and the yolks always come out perfect. As others have pointed out, it may be difficult to peel eggs that are too fresh. I find that eggs that have been in our refrigerator for at least a week peel much easier. I also add salt to the water before boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I have always cooked my eggs 12-15 minutes at a softly rolling boil and they turned out well cooked with firm meat and soft, butter yellow yolk. I've heard of this method a lot so decided to give it a try. I followed the instructions exact and it just didn't work. I've always cooled my eggs in water and never had the green ring. I put some ice cubes in the water this time; maybe I stopped the cooking process too fast? Regardless, I'm going back to my old method. If it ain't broke don't fix it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Except for the fact that these weren't quite done enough for my liking, they were otherwise perfect. I'll just make a note to leave set for another 5 minutes the next time. But followed instructions exactly, left them in the fridge for a couple of hours before peeling. Not only did these eggs peel easier than I have ever experienced before, they were bright white and yellow and tasted divine. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Living at altitude, I followed the advice of a reviewer and let the eggs boil for 5 mins., then let sit for 15 mins. covered. I did add ice to the pan after draining and let them sit in the ice for about 15 mins (I was vacuuming) :). I couldn't wait to see if they were good, so I peeled one right away. It was perfect...thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
These are THE BEST eggs I have ever made! I went exactly by the recipe...no salt, no vinegar. If you put the eggs in the pot at the VERY beginning and follow this recipe EXACTLY you will also have perfect eggs to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savannah Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This is the BEST way to boil perfect eggs. As a reader suggested, I drained them after 15 minutes, shook pan vigerously to crack them, added ice cubes and water to cool them for 10 minutes or so. They peeled beautifully when run under warm water. Best method I've found in over 50 years. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Seale

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Doesn't work at high altitude. If you follow this recipe at high altitude, you will not have cooked eggs. I will try this again, but will experiment with leaving the eggs in boiling water for maybe 5 minutes before removing from heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beale Afb, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Perfect! The only thing I did different was that I let the eggs cool in cold water and then peeled them without putting them in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss January

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: White Plains, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
only way 2 go
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Good fresh; not so good reheated
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 303) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Boil Eggs

See how to boil the perfect egg—and get tips for easy peeling and chopping.

Crab-Stuffed Deviled Eggs

Simple deviled eggs are stuffed with crab then topped with even more crab.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States