Divine Hard-Boiled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
IF your eggs are REALLY fresh & they will not peel - try this: Leave them out on the counter for 24 hours at room temperature & boil them according to these directions after the 24 hour period & they will peel perfectly. I buy farm fresh eggs all the time now, & got this tip from someone in the food industry, we finally found something that works for farm fresh eggs. Enjoy!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jazzyme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This is how I have boiled eggs for years and they do come out perfect. Like some others, I shake the pan hard and make sure they are all very cracked, fill the pan with cold water and ice and the shells come off very easily, sometimes the shell is off before I go to peel them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This is a good recipe. One thing that I learned many years ago from an agricultural lesson, was to take a needle and push a little hole in the large end of the egg. Dianne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This is a great method, IF you don't live in a high altitude area. Here in our area of NM, this would give you a pile of runny egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I have cooked eggs this way for years, and it's by far the easiest and most foolproof. If you forget them nothing much happens because the water is steadily cooling off. If your shells stick it is not because of the cooking method but is the result of cooking eggs that are too fresh. They lose moisture as they age and will come out of the shells more easily if you wait to cook them at about a week or less before the date on the box. Also, as others have mentioned, I leave them in the pan with plenty of ice water and they will be cold about twenty minutes after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEP47

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I think the sitting time after reaching the boil point, depends on what size the eggs are. There is a big difference in cooking time, between small eggs and extra large eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I basically do my eggs this way all the time. I never have the green line. If you let the eggs sit in hot water for 15 minutes and then in cold water and keep cold, the eggs shells will slide right off if you gently tap all around shells to crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
The correct way to hard boil eggs--you can find it in older cookbooks. For those who have trouble peeling the eggs, the key there is not how you boil the eggs but the age of the eggs. The fresher the egg, the harder they are to peel. If you can anticipate your need for hard boiled eggs, buy the eggs and let them 'age'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I'm giving this four stars because the process makes you take more steps than you need to. Follow the instructions to the point of letting the eggs sit for 15 minutes. Take the pot and place it under cold, running water. (I do this until the pot itself is cool.) Leave cold water over the eggs. Check the water temperature every few minutes. When it starts getting warm, cool it off again. And, from my experience, the eggs are much easier to peel when you're done cooling them than they are after they've been in the refrigerator for two hours. In fact, when I take a hard-boiled egg out of the refrigerator, I put it in a glass with warm water in it for 2-3 minutes. I roll the shell on a hard surface so it breaks up a lot then start peeling at the bigger end. The key is to pick up that membrane at the top. The shell will almost roll off. Warming the shell of the egg makes that membrane much easier to get a hold of and peel off easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I have been doing this for years...works perfect every time! I don't wait to peel them, just crack them under cold water and peel away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Boil Eggs

See how to boil the perfect egg—and get tips for easy peeling and chopping.

Crab-Stuffed Deviled Eggs

Simple deviled eggs are stuffed with crab then topped with even more crab.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States