Divine Hard-Boiled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This method worked well. I took the advice from some reviews and gave my eggs a vigorous shake in the pan after draining and must have been too vigorous. 2 of my eggs broke apart, shell and egg together. So if you try that suggestion, maybe don't go for a vigorous shake, just a shake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Here's the thing: If the eggs are cold, coming to a boil too quickly will cause them to crack or burst. Allow them to come to room temperature in a pan of warm, not hot water, and then follow the recipe. And, I use ice to cool them even more quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
IF your eggs are REALLY fresh & they will not peel - try this: Leave them out on the counter for 24 hours at room temperature & boil them according to these directions after the 24 hour period & they will peel perfectly. I buy farm fresh eggs all the time now, & got this tip from someone in the food industry, we finally found something that works for farm fresh eggs. Enjoy!! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jazzyme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This is how I have boiled eggs for years and they do come out perfect. Like some others, I shake the pan hard and make sure they are all very cracked, fill the pan with cold water and ice and the shells come off very easily, sometimes the shell is off before I go to peel them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This is a good recipe. One thing that I learned many years ago from an agricultural lesson, was to take a needle and push a little hole in the large end of the egg. Dianne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This is a great method, IF you don't live in a high altitude area. Here in our area of NM, this would give you a pile of runny egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I have cooked eggs this way for years, and it's by far the easiest and most foolproof. If you forget them nothing much happens because the water is steadily cooling off. If your shells stick it is not because of the cooking method but is the result of cooking eggs that are too fresh. They lose moisture as they age and will come out of the shells more easily if you wait to cook them at about a week or less before the date on the box. Also, as others have mentioned, I leave them in the pan with plenty of ice water and they will be cold about twenty minutes after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEP47

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I think the sitting time after reaching the boil point, depends on what size the eggs are. There is a big difference in cooking time, between small eggs and extra large eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I basically do my eggs this way all the time. I never have the green line. If you let the eggs sit in hot water for 15 minutes and then in cold water and keep cold, the eggs shells will slide right off if you gently tap all around shells to crack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
The correct way to hard boil eggs--you can find it in older cookbooks. For those who have trouble peeling the eggs, the key there is not how you boil the eggs but the age of the eggs. The fresher the egg, the harder they are to peel. If you can anticipate your need for hard boiled eggs, buy the eggs and let them 'age'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 298) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Boil Eggs

See how to boil the perfect egg—and get tips for easy peeling and chopping.

Crab-Stuffed Deviled Eggs

Simple deviled eggs are stuffed with crab then topped with even more crab.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States