Divine Hard-Boiled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Easy and worked exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
THESE EGGS WERE NOT DONE. THEY WERE TERRIBLE, WHAT A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY. NOW I HAVE TO GO OUT AND BUY SOME DEVILED EGGS FOR A PARTY LATER. DIRECTIONS WERE FOLLOWED COMPLETELY AS I DIDN'T THINK ALL OF YOU COULD BE WRONG.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
I have been using this method for years and it works every time. I have one extra step, though, which eliminates the 2-hour refrigeration. When the eggs have steeped in the water for 15 minutes, I drain them and put the lid back on the pan and shake it vigorously until each of the eggs is cracked. Then I put ice cubes in the pan to cover the eggs and fill it with cold water. I let it sit for 15-20 minutes and the eggs are cold. Because the cold water is underneath the cracked shells, they almost fall off the egg when you begin to peel them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
PERFECT !!!! I'm eating them right now, because I'm too hungry to throw them in the fridge... Yumyumyum. Yolks are perfectly yellow and centered. I used to always boil the hell out of my eggs because I never knew the "right" way to make them. So glad I do now!!! Thanks so much for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blu Pixi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Maybe this one is for a different altitude, but I live in Montana and I followed these instructions EXACTLY. When I went to peel the eggs, the whites ripped open and the yolks totally weren't cooked. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I've been making deviled eggs for 50 yrs & needed to take several dozen to a Christmas party today. I cooked 30 eggs for this. I followed this recipe to a "T" & they were the worst eggs I've ever peeled. The membrane was tightly adhered to the white of the egg making it impossible to get the shell off without damaging the white. It took me 1 1/2 hrs to pull off the little pieces of shell. Out of 30 eggs, instead of getting 60 deviled eggs, I ended up with 34 deviled eggs. I will never use this recipe again. Back to my old "tried & true".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This really works for hard boiled eggs! I always have just guessed at the time for eggs and most of the time, they turned out fine....but...there have been some times when they were not done! I will always do them this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Yep, the best way to make a hard boiled egg. My sister taught me this years ago and I've been doing it this way since. I just had to add my 5 stars for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is exactly the way I've been doing my eggs for years. The only difference is after the 15 minutes I rinse them under cold water, crack the bottoms and stick them in an ice water bath for about 10 minutes. This lets the water get into the shells so they are always easy to peel & ready much faster than this recipes cooling method. I also agree with other reviewers to use "older" eggs, if they are too fresh you will have problems peeling them no matter what you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Hardboiled eggs should always be peeled as soon as possible, and under a stream of cool water to make the egg retract away from the shell. Don't put your eggs in the frig if you want to get the peel off and keep your eggs looking pretty for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Boil Eggs

See how to boil the perfect egg—and get tips for easy peeling and chopping.

Crab-Stuffed Deviled Eggs

Simple deviled eggs are stuffed with crab then topped with even more crab.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States