Divine Hard-Boiled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Maybe this one is for a different altitude, but I live in Montana and I followed these instructions EXACTLY. When I went to peel the eggs, the whites ripped open and the yolks totally weren't cooked. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I've been making deviled eggs for 50 yrs & needed to take several dozen to a Christmas party today. I cooked 30 eggs for this. I followed this recipe to a "T" & they were the worst eggs I've ever peeled. The membrane was tightly adhered to the white of the egg making it impossible to get the shell off without damaging the white. It took me 1 1/2 hrs to pull off the little pieces of shell. Out of 30 eggs, instead of getting 60 deviled eggs, I ended up with 34 deviled eggs. I will never use this recipe again. Back to my old "tried & true".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This really works for hard boiled eggs! I always have just guessed at the time for eggs and most of the time, they turned out fine....but...there have been some times when they were not done! I will always do them this way from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Yep, the best way to make a hard boiled egg. My sister taught me this years ago and I've been doing it this way since. I just had to add my 5 stars for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This is exactly the way I've been doing my eggs for years. The only difference is after the 15 minutes I rinse them under cold water, crack the bottoms and stick them in an ice water bath for about 10 minutes. This lets the water get into the shells so they are always easy to peel & ready much faster than this recipes cooling method. I also agree with other reviewers to use "older" eggs, if they are too fresh you will have problems peeling them no matter what you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Hardboiled eggs should always be peeled as soon as possible, and under a stream of cool water to make the egg retract away from the shell. Don't put your eggs in the frig if you want to get the peel off and keep your eggs looking pretty for presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I can't wait to try the "put a rubber band around the carton and put it on it's side the night before to center the yolk" tip. I cook mine in my large tea kettle. Seems I always step away just when they start to boil and spit water on my cooktop. This way I don't have to watch. The whistle alerts me. Also, I've always waited 10 min. and they've been perfect, but will try the 15 to see if it makes a difference. After the wait period I gently pour the hot water out of the kettle, put a little tap water in and finish filling the kettle with ice. No frig step, no other bowl to wash, no 2 hour wait, and they're perfect. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
to peel the eggs i usually just pour off the hot water, put the lid on the pot and shake the dickens out of them. then rinse in cold water until cool enough to peel. older eggs are easier to peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I always make my boiled eggs this way. Mom always put salt in the water though. I think it was so that if the egg cracked it would not "spread" all through the water. Anyway, for those people who said this recipe did not work, I think some of them are not putting the cover on the pot when they first put the eggs on the stove (at least one failed review read like that). You have to cover the eggs with water (I use cold water), then put the lid on the pan, then bring it to a boil. After that leave the lid on the pot while timing for 15 minutes. And if someone has trouble peeling the eggs, I think it's the fault of the freshness of the eggs, not the fault of the cooking method. I cool the eggs in cold water first, but then I peel them under cold running water (I don't refrigerate first). This helps get the peel off, but if an egg is too fresh, it will be harder to peel. Anyway, this method has always worked for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Awesome! Thank you so much for your posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Boil Eggs

See how to boil the perfect egg—and get tips for easy peeling and chopping.

Crab-Stuffed Deviled Eggs

Simple deviled eggs are stuffed with crab then topped with even more crab.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States