Divine Hard-Boiled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This recipe doesn't lie - perfect eggs every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeXedPiNk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
While this is the recipe I typically use, I still find that the shell is hard to peel off. I am following recipe exactly- don't get it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I only gave this 3 stars because the yolks did indeed come out a beautiful yellow, but 3 of the eggs were a little underdone and all of the 24 eggs shells stuck. I was super excited to try this, because of all the great reviews. Been looking for a recipe where the shells don't stick. I followed this down to the last letter and my shells stuck. I even followed adivce from those who said to use eggs closer to the expiration date. They were one day from expiring. I only boiled 12 at a time also. I was hoping I somehow screwed up the first pot and the second pot would come out fine...but nope..both pots yielded stuck shells. I was doing deviled eggs for easter tonight, and my egg whites looks jagged...thank God they taste good cz they look horrible... :( Back to the drawing board.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Works every time! This is very similar to the method recommended by the American Egg Board. The egg board recommends 12 minutes for medium eggs, 15 minutes for large eggs, and 18 minutes for extra large eggs. Be sure to allow the water to come to a FULL, ROLLING BOIL before taking them off of the burner. Also, they may not cook all the way through if you don't cover the pan after removing it from the heat. allowing them to boil for too long will cause a green ring around the yolk, which won't hurt you but sure doesn't look appetizing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I just left the kitchen after hard-boiling 10 large eggs for tomorrow's Deviled Eggs, basically using this recipe . . . almost. Took the eggs out of the refrigerator about 10 minutes before placing them in the 3-quart pan. I always do them in a single layer; don't know if that makes a difference, but it seems to work for me. Add enough water to go at least 1 inch over the eggs. Add salt. (I never did understand why this was done since the eggs were in a shell, but I've come to the conclusion that it's done to make the eggs more buoyant and off the bottom of the pan, like swimming in the ocean.) Place pan on high heat with lid slightly ajar until large bubbles appear on top of water, then immediately move pan to cold burner, put lid on tightly and set timer for 15 minutes. When timer rings, pour water off eggs and refill pan with cold water. Let eggs sit there while you fill a bowl with ice water. I find that peeling eggs as quickly as possible, even while they're still a little warm, makes the shell come off more easily. Once peeled and 'swished' in the water still in the pan to remove any little pieces of shell that might remain on them, I put the peeled eggs in the ice water, and then into a covered container to use tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Didn't crack one egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
IMPORTANT NOTE: it is helpful to know that you need to bring the eggs to a ROLLING BOIL. If you bring it just to a boil, your eggs will still be liquid inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This worked very quickly and made them perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This recipe works better if you put 1/2 t. salt in the water as you fill the pot. That delays boiling until the temp is just a bit higher, and will take care of the issue experienced by many reviewers of eggs not quite done. Some of the inconsistency in the results probably came about because the recipe does not say what size pot to use. A larger pot (more water), would hold the heat longer than a smaller one just big enough to hold the eggs. These two omissions (salt & amount of water) is why this is not a 5-star recipe, even though it may work perfectly for some of the users. Of course if you live at high altitude, you may want to simmer the eggs on low 1 or 2 minutes after they first boil and before you take them off the heat. Once you find eggzactly the right timing for where you live, you will have a foolproof formula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Works Great! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Luthman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 310) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ken's Perfect Hard Boiled Egg

A foolproof method for perfect hard boiled eggs, every time.

How to Boil Eggs

See how to boil the perfect egg—and get tips for easy peeling and chopping.

Easter Chick Deviled Eggs

A delicious deviled egg recipe gets a cute-for-Easter makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States