Divine Hard-Boiled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I just left the kitchen after hard-boiling 10 large eggs for tomorrow's Deviled Eggs, basically using this recipe . . . almost. Took the eggs out of the refrigerator about 10 minutes before placing them in the 3-quart pan. I always do them in a single layer; don't know if that makes a difference, but it seems to work for me. Add enough water to go at least 1 inch over the eggs. Add salt. (I never did understand why this was done since the eggs were in a shell, but I've come to the conclusion that it's done to make the eggs more buoyant and off the bottom of the pan, like swimming in the ocean.) Place pan on high heat with lid slightly ajar until large bubbles appear on top of water, then immediately move pan to cold burner, put lid on tightly and set timer for 15 minutes. When timer rings, pour water off eggs and refill pan with cold water. Let eggs sit there while you fill a bowl with ice water. I find that peeling eggs as quickly as possible, even while they're still a little warm, makes the shell come off more easily. Once peeled and 'swished' in the water still in the pan to remove any little pieces of shell that might remain on them, I put the peeled eggs in the ice water, and then into a covered container to use tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Didn't crack one egg!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
IMPORTANT NOTE: it is helpful to know that you need to bring the eggs to a ROLLING BOIL. If you bring it just to a boil, your eggs will still be liquid inside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This worked very quickly and made them perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This recipe works better if you put 1/2 t. salt in the water as you fill the pot. That delays boiling until the temp is just a bit higher, and will take care of the issue experienced by many reviewers of eggs not quite done. Some of the inconsistency in the results probably came about because the recipe does not say what size pot to use. A larger pot (more water), would hold the heat longer than a smaller one just big enough to hold the eggs. These two omissions (salt & amount of water) is why this is not a 5-star recipe, even though it may work perfectly for some of the users. Of course if you live at high altitude, you may want to simmer the eggs on low 1 or 2 minutes after they first boil and before you take them off the heat. Once you find eggzactly the right timing for where you live, you will have a foolproof formula.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Works Great! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Luthman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I decided to try it this way since so many people said it worked out so well. I followed the directions exactly and the eggs are not cooked completely and they're slimey :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Great directions. I never know how long to cook my eggs. Sometimes they are undercooked in the middle and sometimes they are overcooked and greenish. This is perfect. Thanks for making it so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
My yolks weren't completely set so I'll add another minute or two next time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Great method! I only made 4 eggs for hubby and he said they peeled very easy and perfect yellow yolk.....no green at all. Will be using this way from now on to hard boil. Almost time for those Easter eggs! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 111-120 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Boil Eggs

See how to boil the perfect egg—and get tips for easy peeling and chopping.

Crab-Stuffed Deviled Eggs

Simple deviled eggs are stuffed with crab then topped with even more crab.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States