Divine Asparagus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2003
This recipe was easy to make, and it tasted good. The combination of garlic and raisins was interesting but worked nicely. Okay, now I want to add to my original review. I had the leftovers cold for lunch the next day. I added a few pecans and some cold leftover orange roughy. This was really good. The flavor developed quite a bit overnight, and the raisins added a nice sweetness. I'll make this again, but will chill it overnight and serve it cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I was looking for a quick asparagus dish that was different from the typical ones that I make. This fit the bill perfectly. It was beautiful to look at and thought the green and red colors would be fabulous for a Christmas buffet. I think this would also be terrific as a cold salad with toasted pecans or walnuts. Quick, elegant and tasty. Only use very fresh asparagus; if not, it will taste bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
The sauce is gourmet. The mixture of wine and raisins is fantastic. My guests requested I make it several more times! Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Tigard, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
It was a good starting point, but it needed a lot of salt to bring it up to par. The texture came out great, it just needed extra seasoning. Do not use the recipe as-is because it needs the salt to go with the sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystal Franklin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
I used extra garlic and also a bit of salt. Had no raisins on hand but was pleased with the mixture of the butter/wine/garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waverly, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Thought this sounded weird - but I had leftover wine and wanted to use it. It was delicious! I used golden raisins, as that's what I had on hand - and it still worked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
My husband ate 2 helpings and was going for thirds. I think this is a winner!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Bell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
We thought this was pretty bland! We doctored it up with butter, and salt. Probably won't make again. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Interesting flavor combo - we really enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smr

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ojai, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
The asparagus came out okay... I think it would have been better had I not cut them as indicated in the recipe. They also came out a little bit harder than I would've liked, but that could simply be because it was my first time ever attempting to cook asparagus. I'm a beginner...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Pan-Fried Asparagus

A simple asparagus side dish with garlic, olive oil, and butter.

Asparagus Soufflé

See how easy it is to whip up a light, fluffy soufflé.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States