Ditalini with Roasted Tomato Sauce and Goat Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I LOVED this recipe! The sauce is absolutely delicious, however I would recommend doubling the serving size- when I made this for some friends the sauce was literally gone before half of the pasta was even touched. Needless to say everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by orlie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Love, Love, Love, Love this sauce. So easy to make I don't think I'll ever use jarred sauce again! I didn't make the Ditalini, but used this sauce in roasted veggie lasagna, and what else can I say. . . YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Simple but very good. What more can I say? Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Whole family loved it! I used fresh tomatoes from the garden instead of canned and it took a little bit longer to roast off all the liquid. Well worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Dima

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I used the idea, and experimented a bit. To 5 lbs of fresh roma tomatoes from our garden, I added 2 large onions, 2 large green peppers, lots of fresh oregno, and a small pile of garlic (along with generous olive oil, of course)! Baked for 1hr 10 min, then left it in the oven til all the heat was dissipated. I ended up with a delicious concentrated slurry to serve as a base for our marinara. I added 2 cans of tomato sauce and simmered. We added sweet Italian sausage cut in bite-size chunks (pre-fried), plus a lb or so of pre-fried ground beef (plenty of pepper, a bit of salt). The idea of carmelizing these ingredients is genius!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
Our home grown San Marzano tomatoes, garlic, herbs and onions made this sauce into absolute perfection. I wish there was some way to preserve the aroma of the roasting vegetables, it is pure heaven. Aside from using fresh tomatoes, we followed the recipe to the letter and will continue to do just that since there is no way to improve on this wonderful sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I was interested in the Roasted Tomato Sauce part of recipe... WoW nice deep roasted favor. Easy process for a awesome sauce thanks for sharing!!! TiM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by impala138
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Awesome smell around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by getsa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
noting else to say but awesome it was a big hit thank you again Chef John once again it is a great recipe I did add some rushed red pepper to it because I am a heat lover just like you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Oh. My. Goodness! Really, really, really great sauce. Did I mention this sauce was really great? You must buy the San Marzano tomatoes. I didn't think they would make a difference, but then I thought, why would Chef John lie? He wouldn't!! I quadrupled the recipe for a large office lunch, with a few cups left over to stash in the freezer. I paired this with the World's Fastest Meatballs (also by Chef John), to make meatball subs. I also used this sauce with stuffed mushrooms and it was heaven. I could drink this sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Goat Cheese and Arugula Over Penne

Fresh arugula and cherry tomatoes in a creamy, garlicky pasta sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States