Dishpan Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I LOVE making and eating cookies and these were suprisingly good. Although I did use butter instead of margarine (that could be why people are getting flat cookies-I don't like using margarine-plus why skimp when it's a cookie) and I ALWAYS need a squirt or two of vanilla in any of my cookies. These had a nice and different crunch with the cornflake ingredient and they were very yummy! Will def make again. I also made half the recipe and that was plenty of cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2004
These were REALLY good! I usually won't rate a recipe that I've changed but the only thing I did different with these cookies was that I used real butter instead of margarine and I used 2 cups of chocolate chips instead of 3. My kids and hubby LOVED these cookies. I also refrigerated the dough for 2 hours and that helped them from being so flat. I loved that they were so chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2002
i was disappointed in the chewiness everyone mentioned. i thought these came out dry. the chewiness must just be from the cereals and coconut vs the moisture retention. i cut the recipe in half and it filled my mixing bowl, so if you do the full recipe, you will need a huge bowl and strength to mix all the ingredients. you can't really use a power mixer when adding the final ingredients: cereals, chips and coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
The cookies are great...crispy and chewy. But the recipe is very large. You will need a very powerful mixer too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
WOW! Now this is an awesome cookie! I was looking for a recipe for Cowboy cookies and this one had the same ingredients, so I used it. I added raisins and walnuts and they were so good. These cookies did not flatten when cool. Just the right texture a little crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. I had to bake them longer, about 15 minutes was perfect but I made them pretty big. The batch was so big I couldn't fit it all in the mixer (Kitchen Aid), so I mixed the rest of the ingredients with my hands. I am going to try different variations. Like butterscotch chips and walnuts, no raisins. I am sure these will be in my cookie jar for years to come! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
Really yummy warm! I used Splenda in place of the sugars & cut the recipe in half. Splenda in cookies doesn't flatten so I had to flatten them before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I can cook, but a baker I am not..UNTIL TODAY!!! This recipe is wonderful. The corn flakes scared me a little, but in the end I like it. I followed the recipe to the letter and they are perfect. These are fantastic cookies. I did need to bake them about 14 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Love these cookies! This is one for my recipe box. I used butter and cut the recipe in 1/2. Cooked them 10 min. New favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This is officialy our family's favorite cookie. I get bored with the typical chocolate chip cookies and these are a great change. I always make them with butter instead of margarine. They are also very good replacing the chocolate chips for dried cranberries. They make lots so do small batches or use a strong mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This is the same recipe my grandma used, it was word for word what was in her book in her handwriting. She said they were called dishpancookies because the recipe makes so many cookies that you have to mix it in a dishpan. This cookie is crisp if you cook it longer, hers were always dry and crisp--I don't like chewy underbaked cookies so these are perfect. I use butter and butterscotch chips when I make them--the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeriNewman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: Highland, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States