Dishpan Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
these were okay, nothing special, i didn't care much for them...thought they were odd little chocolate-chip-ish type cookies...that needed more chocolate, others liked them. won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riblet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
These were good, not the best cookies ever, but I liked the difference that the cornflakes added to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Yum! I was craving chocolate chip cookies with some texture and crunch, but didn't have any nuts to put in them. So, I tried this recipe. I halved it, used butter and unsweetened coconut. I also reduced the white sugar by half and that was a good change. The cookies would have been way too sweet for me if I had used all the sugar and sweetened coconut. I didn't have corn flakes, so I used rice crispies and it worked fine. I think most kinds of cereal with a neutral flavor would work. The result was a buttery cookie with great texture. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
I had to make these with whole-wheat flour, old-fashioned oats instead of quick oats and rice krispies instead of cornflakes. They turned out wonderful. I also quartered the recipe. I used a melon baller and ended up with 45 3-inch cookies! I can not imagine making the whole batch. They turned out so wonderful that I will never make them any other way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Churchill808

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I found the cookies to be a little on the sweet side, but otherwise the taste was good. The only problem I had was that some cookies were hard and others were crunchie. Not knowing how these are to be after baking, I cannot decide what went wrong. Can the one who posted this receipe let me know. I baked the cookies in a convection oven for 9 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
OK dieters, don't hate me, but I added applesauce instead of margarine. I was looking for a recipe similar to one I lost, called "crunchy, bumpy, munchy cookies." These were similar, and very good. I added 1 cup raisins, 1 cup shredded raw carrots and frosted them with a fat free powdered sugar glaze. I know they sound strange, but the cereal keeps them light and the texture is varied and marvelous. Because of the very low fat they don't store well, but they never last long either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
This is the same recipe my grandma used, it was word for word what was in her book in her handwriting. She said they were called dishpancookies because the recipe makes so many cookies that you have to mix it in a dishpan. This cookie is crisp if you cook it longer, hers were always dry and crisp--I don't like chewy underbaked cookies so these are perfect. I use butter and butterscotch chips when I make them--the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeriNewman

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Wonderful! So much better the next day! I cut the recipe in half - perfect amount. Note that you can use quick or regular (old fashioned) oats. These are so similar to the "Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy" recipe from this site (but those don't have cornflakes) that I wanted this one to be different, so I omitted the chocolate chips. Loved them! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I wasn't sure I loved these cookies the first time I made them. Then I put them in the fridge overnight and cooked them the next day. They were much better after being in the fridge. Also I ended up cooking them longer the second day and they were better that way too. I usually prefer my cookies soft and a little gooey but I actually prefer these cookies crunchy and golden brown all over. I cook them for 10-12 minutes instead of 8-10. Also the dough is amazingly good to eat. Almost better than the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Wanted a chocolate chip recipe that was different and I LOVED these! Didn't have any corn flakes so used Special K and they were fantastic. Halved the recipe and it still made a lot of big yummy cookies. Crispy on the outside - chewy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States