Dishpan Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
These cookies were great. I used butter, since that is what I had on hand. Also after reading the reviews and everyone saying how many cookies it made, I only made a half batch. I would make these again, they are a nice and chewy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Like many other reviewers, I like these cookies enough keep experimenting with them to get them fluffier and healthier. For fluffier, I have found replacing the margarine and refrigerating the dough to be helpful. I also live at a high elevation so adding a Tbs. of dough enhancer helps too. For healthier, I do half whole wheat flour, cut the white sugar, and use finely milled golden flax seed as a substitute for 1/4 of the butter. I got a big 40 oz. bag of milled flax from a popular club store; the bag says you can substitute 3 Tbsp flax for 1 Tbsp. margarine or 1 Tbs. flax + 3 Tbsp. water for 1 egg. It also tastes good just to throw in a scoop or two. The possibilities are endless with this recipe! Thanks ladies, for the fun cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I was a bit disappointed. My family and I thought these cookies were too sweet and greasy. If I make them again, I'll cut back on sugar and margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Just made these cookies. Beware they are very hard to mix. I eventually got frustrated and finished it with my hands. I left out the corn flakes because my daughter was watching and freaked out when I measured them out. I'll sneak them in next time. Luckily my son did not see me put the oats in. I also left the coconut out. I don't really like it. It still made a ton of cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kewanee, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
Yummy!! My only change was that I added some nuts and used butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
These are great cookies! I listened to other comments and made a few changes but not much. I did add vanilla and used butter. I also cut the recipe in half and it filled my mixing bowl. Now I understand what everyone said about needing a strong mixer!! With making only half the recipe, I ended up with 1 1/2 dozen large cookies. They were perfect in 14-15 minutes. Thanks for the suggestions and the recipe!! I will definately be making these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is such a versatile recipe that you can use it as a base and add anything you want to enhance or change the recipe. I like to double the big batch on occassions and split it into 4 small batches. Each batch has a different additive like, raisins; coconut; walnuts & raisins; macadamian nuts & white choc. chips; butterscotch chips & coconut. These are all AWESOME combinations for great cookies. Even my family thinks they are all different recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
I subbed butter for margarine and, as I almost always do when making cookies, I used King Arthur organic whole wheat white flour. I gently folded in the cornflakes after everything else had been added so that they would not get too crushed. I felt that they were missing something and only ok. I think some vanilla or almond extract might have given them the flavor oomph I was looking for. I am giving them five stars however because my husband loved them. He took them to a meeting at work and called to say that everyone raved about the cookies. Later in the day I got an email from him asking for the recipe for those who had requested it. If that response does not a five star recipe make then I guess I do not know what does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This is a terrific cookie recipe. I substituted real butter for margarine and I halved the recipe, ending up with about 4 dozen cookies. These soft, chewy and crunchy cookies are some of the best I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rburns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Great cookies. I love recipies that make ALOT of cookies because if your going to go to the effort you want to be able to freeze some and not have them gone the same day. Made 60 cookies. Use a Very big bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ScotiaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States