Dish Pan Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Great cookie recipe that's easy to make any time because you don't need to wait for butter to soften! I used crushed Corn Chex cereal and omitted the pecans. Everyone loved these. The cereal adds an interesting crunch to the cookie. It took longer for mine to bake, more like 18-20 mins and I was concerned they wouldn't set up because of the oil. But after they cooled, they were fine. I used parchment paper so it was easier to re-use the cookie sheets for each round of oven time (I can only bake one sheet at a time in my tiny oven). I plan to make more and will sandwich ice cream between two cookies for even more yummy fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Good cookies -- I halved the sugar and salt and used mostly olive oil and a little vegetable oil. I took the advice of others and added cinnamon, ginger, cloves, and a little nutmeg. I omitted the nuts and used fewer dates and raisins. It makes a lot of cookies and they are tasty -- great recipe if you have to make a lot of cookies and are out of butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This recipes is a staple in our house, especially at Christmas time. I always have requests for the recipe! We don't care for raisins or dates, so we substitute toffee bits and chocolate chips. I love that it makes so many cookies, as we have a lot of holiday functions and it is nice to throw some on a tray and go! My favorite thing about them is the crunch of the cornflakes in the chewy cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
made these cookies for a wedding, wanted something that made alot of cookies so i didn't have to mix often. i did have to add a bit more flour, but of course i didn't measure how much more i added, and i had to use almonds because i didn't have pecans. The cookies were wonderful, everyone LOVED them. the bridal party was "testing" them during rehearsal and were well recived. will make again, hopefully with pecans. and i plan on trying this wwith cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
These are GOOD! Definitely toast the pecans- it gives them a much better texture and flavor. I cut the sugar by a cup total since my coconut was sweetened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Yum yum yum....these cookies are delicious and the texture is perfect (crisp on the outside, soft on the inside). The cookie dough was irresistible and I had to fight off my kids and husband from the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I had my kids help and they had fun with this. Because my kids aren't too fond of pecans, coconut and dates, I used my food processor to blend these ingredients up fine so they just didn't see them as well. (What they can't see, they can't complain about right?) Anyway, they went over really well with them. I dinged this recipe only 1 star because it had a slight oil-y taste, but it didn't detract from the cookies much. (Perhaps I should have used vegetable oil instead of canola...) It makes about a double batch of cookies, so you can easily halve it and freeeze part. Thanks for a great recipe as printed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawnee, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
Great cookie, the cookie monsters in my house were very happy. Crunchy on the outside chewy on the inside. And I don't have to remember to take the butter out of the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Great recipie. A new favorite! I used whole wheat flour instead of white to get a nuttier flavor and I reduced the oil to 1& 1/2 cups so the cookies are nolonger crumbly. This is a fun recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I made these for the office and found that they were some of the best cookies most of my co-workers had ever eaten. I got raves for them and at least a dozen people asked for the recipe. I have been told I must make them again. A couple notes when you make them. First, they are very crumbly and dry when you put them on the baking sheet. Don't worry, they rise a little and get chewy and are not dry. Don't worry about the lack of butter, but use a good quality of oil. Also, I tried the time at 10-14 minutes but had to cook 17-18 to get them to brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Snappy Turtle Cookies

These fun chocolate-frosted cookies look just like turtles!

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States