Dirty Snow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I made this cake for Christmas. The Grand kids loved it! Real whipped cream was a great treat making this cake moist. Serving the cake cold was a hit, plus it was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by starrynite
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
The filling's very good--not too sweet, even my husband who is not a dessert eater, likes it! My kids can't get enough of it...! They kept coming back to eat the scraps I cut out when I was shaping the cake. At the party, all the kids ate the cake and most of them finished it, even the boy who usually don't eat cakes, ate it up...! The parents have asked me if I could make a birthday cake for him. Like some reviewers mentioned the cake itself did taste a little bland, the combination of butter cream and whipped cream fillings make a huge taste difference! I might try making white cake myself instead of a box next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starrynite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My son asked for white cake for his birthday so this was a nice twist. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This cake was very time cousuming, but it was well worth it. It was very moist and was not to sweet, it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Not really as great as everyone is raving. An average cake, best part was that it was easy but it is bland. Not impressed at all...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Based on other reviews, I made a white cake from scratch instead of using a cake mix. I also added additional oreos in between layers as well as on top of the cake. It was very bland and family wasn't too enthused about this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
A recipe similar to this was originally on the Pillsbury Cake Mix box. It said to add 1 1/4 cups water, 1/3 cup oil, 3 egg whites, and 1 cup coarsely crushed Oreo cookies to a white cake mix. Stir in the cookies gently after all is blended. The frosting recipe was different, however. It was 3 cups of powdered sugar, 3/4 cup shortening, 1 teas. vanilla, and 2 egg whites (pasteurized, today, available in the egg section of the store). Combine 1/2 cup of the powdered sugar, shortening, vanilla and 2 egg whites; blend well. Beat in remaining powdered sugar until frosting is smooth and creamy.Garnish with additional Oreo cookie halves. This frosting makes it easier to make ahead, take to a potluck, or to someone's house It has always been a winner! (As soon as I saw this recipe I remembered that I had this version in my recipe box from many years ago.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
What can I say. This cake is easy and awesome. I took it to a potluck at work. (I personally did not eat any b/c I try to limit my sweets.) The cake was quickly gone, even though others brought desserts, too. Also, there are three lunch shifts, and the cake was gone during the first shift, I think. Some people who didn't get to try it were dissapointed. I even had someone say, months after that potluck, that it was the best cake they'd ever ate. Next time I make it, I want to decorate the top with cute and easy oreo penguins. Just lay the oreo flat, twist off the top cookie, and break it into two pieces. The two pieces form the wings as you lay the two pieces on top of the cream. Then, just plop a hershey's kiss above the broken oreo. Finaly, decorate the kiss face of the penguin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Pretty bland. Just tastes like a white cake with whipped cream. Chocoholics will not be satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Looked fun but just an average cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States