Dirty Snow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
What can I say. This cake is easy and awesome. I took it to a potluck at work. (I personally did not eat any b/c I try to limit my sweets.) The cake was quickly gone, even though others brought desserts, too. Also, there are three lunch shifts, and the cake was gone during the first shift, I think. Some people who didn't get to try it were dissapointed. I even had someone say, months after that potluck, that it was the best cake they'd ever ate. Next time I make it, I want to decorate the top with cute and easy oreo penguins. Just lay the oreo flat, twist off the top cookie, and break it into two pieces. The two pieces form the wings as you lay the two pieces on top of the cream. Then, just plop a hershey's kiss above the broken oreo. Finaly, decorate the kiss face of the penguin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
A recipe similar to this was originally on the Pillsbury Cake Mix box. It said to add 1 1/4 cups water, 1/3 cup oil, 3 egg whites, and 1 cup coarsely crushed Oreo cookies to a white cake mix. Stir in the cookies gently after all is blended. The frosting recipe was different, however. It was 3 cups of powdered sugar, 3/4 cup shortening, 1 teas. vanilla, and 2 egg whites (pasteurized, today, available in the egg section of the store). Combine 1/2 cup of the powdered sugar, shortening, vanilla and 2 egg whites; blend well. Beat in remaining powdered sugar until frosting is smooth and creamy.Garnish with additional Oreo cookie halves. This frosting makes it easier to make ahead, take to a potluck, or to someone's house It has always been a winner! (As soon as I saw this recipe I remembered that I had this version in my recipe box from many years ago.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
I just have one thing to say about this recipe:DELICIOUS!!!I made this for my husbands birthday and everyone went nuts over it!i had to make two of them for my daughters birthday because it went so fast.This is a great cake for a childs birthday or even your husbands!One more thing before I go,this recipe called for white sugar,i didn't know if it was regular sugar or confectioners sugar so I used confectioners sugar.If it was supposed to be regular sugar the confectioners sugar I used made this cake delicious anyway. thank you so much for sharing this recipe with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
The grade-school guest children refused to take even one bite of the cake after one of them read the cake name aloud. Their parents loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2000
I made this using lemon sandwich cookies instead of chocolate cookies. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2001
It took me a while to whip the cream and frost the cake, but it was very moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
The moistness is the best thing about this cake! I used extra oreo crumbles in and on this cake. And I made Cool Whip-cream cheese frosting (Creamy Cream Cheese Frosting from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
My whole family loved this cake. I made it for Easter and they all raved about it. Sure made me feel good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I made the cake as the recipe was given and it came out delicious and got very good reviews. The homemade whipped cream & oreos made this cake. Wouldnt change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
this did in fact taste like a boxed cake recipe. However, I made it for my daughter's 5th birthday and the whipped cream inside with the cookies was a big hit with the kiddos AND the adults. It wasn't difficult to make either. As long as you have a hand mixer, whipping the cream is easy! I did not use the cream to frost the outside though. I made chocolate icing, and it worked well also! Great recipe for a quick but distinct cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Quantico, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States