Dirty Martini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
dirty martini is not for me...you gotta like REALLY like olive juice.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wiggins, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Hola! My favorite Martini is dirty and bad! Half vodka and half gin, skip the vermouth! For a spicy treat I stuff hollow olives with wasabi. It's easy using the stuff in the tube. This goes down so fast I limit myself to one! Suldos Martini lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by odette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sayulita, Nayarit, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
If you love olives (as much as I do) you will love dirty martinis. I've had about 7 of them since I first tried them (a week ago).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This is my favorite mixed drink, but I recommend that people try a wet gin version (4 oz gin, 2 oz vermouth) instead of a vodka martini. IMHO, vermouth doesn't pair well with vodka, which is why the "vodka martini" gets closer to a glass ov vodka every year, but vermouth tastes great with gin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I should have read more reviews. If so I would have omitted the olive brine and looked for "Dirty Sue" brine or used Tabasco. Maybe this just wasn't for me. I'm a Vodka drinker but this didn't cut the mustard or....... olive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I changed the recipe after reading a few reviews and to my personal preference. I used a shot glass and a half of dirty sue martini mix (in substitute of the olive juice), I used a cold martini glass, coated the glass with dry vermouth, combined the dirty sue and 6 ounzes of vodka ( I prefer Kettle One or Grey Goose for martinis) in a cocktail shaker with ice then poured it into the coated cold martini glass along with 3 big stuffed olives! Delicious and very potent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVE2EAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eagle River, Alaska, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I'd never had a "dirty" martini until this past week and really enjoyed it..so much so, I went looking for this recipe on-line and this is great! To the "seasoned bartender" who gave the advice about coating the glass with the vermouth and discarding excess -- thank you!! While the vermouth does lend a definite layer of flavour,I have had other martinis where the vermouth was just too overpowering (and am actually never sure what a "dash" constitutes in ANY recipe!) Wonderful tip! As for the olive brine debate, I think if you use the brine from olives you enjoy for yourself and are pleased to set out for company on a tray -- that's perfectly fine -- it's all about personal tastebuds, right? The described portion was a bit much for me so I halved it -- but this will definitely become a regular before-Sunday-night-dinner-drink (as I relax in-between cooking and serving Sunday night dinner! LOL)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
I started drinking these before there was a name to the drink! Hence my name on this website. However, this past weekend I went to a Martini Bar where they had a "dirty kick Martini". The kick was two drops of Tabasco! It was just enough of a kick to make you notice the tang. Give it a try! Cheers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
I love this recipe and bartended for years making this same recipe in both a Gin or Vodka depending on the customer's preferred taste. We kicked it up a notch making the Dirty Gunslinger by using Gunslinger Olives and brine (Jalepeno stuffed Olives)...makes for a wonderful, possibly too wonderful, martini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I like to spice it up with a little heat and add jalapeno stuffed olives and of course the juice from the same olive jar. For you sissies that say it may be too hot, give it a try, it's not as hot as you may think but gives a nice little bite and a kick of flavor. And you can always yank the jalapenos from the olives too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kahlúa Espresso Martini

See how to make an espresso martini with vodka and Kahlua.

Vodka Martini Cocktail

See how to make a classic vodka martini.

Pumpkin Spice Martini

Festive holiday cocktail flavored with pumpkin liqueur.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States