Dirty Martini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Whoa, 6 ounces of vodka. Where do you find a glass that big? I have what I thought was a big martini glass, and it only holds 4 ounces. I love vodka martinis and have made them with many kinds of vodka and many kinds of olives. If you want a simple, but potent, vodka martini, stick a bottle of Belvedere in the freezer for at least a couple of hours, or if you're on a budget use Stolichnaya (Stoli) - yes, I know Stoli isn't cheap. When you put the vodka in the freezer, stick a couple of martini glasses in there as well. To make the martini, place a few Manzanilla olives on a skewer in the frozen glass, add about a 1/2 teaspoon of olive juice, and fill the glass with the vodka from the freezer. It goes without saying, you need to like vodka to enjoy this drink, but if you do - this is one sweet way to drink it. BTW, since there is no ice to melt and water down the vodka, a couple of these goes along way. Before everyone says, why not just fill a glass with vodka and drink it? Well, that would make it a vodka shot, which is also good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I like that this recipe called for 4 stuffed olives. I usually go with 3 but 4 is def better. I tend to like my vodka straight with just a splash of 3BAR olive juice. Right now I can only find it on amazon but I keep trying to convince the local pub to carry it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
The ONLY way that I can truly enjoy this classic is with Ketel One vodka, no vermouth, blue-cheese stuffed olives and extra olive juice. I like mine FILTHY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This definitely needs to be made with a good vodka. I tried it with Gordon's. It was like rubbing alcohol. I'm sure that with a Stoli's or Grey Goose, this would be awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
YUMMY! I get the idea of coating the martini glass with vermouth - fantastic! could never get the proportion right. I now understand why bar supply stores sell those spritz bottles for the vermouth - you have to get it JUST right. And - btw - 6 ozs. vodka? LOVE IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Helen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Photo by JemSta
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Yummy! You can also try with blue cheese stuffed olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JemSta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Great drink - Even better if you use Jalapino stuffed olives and use that brine. Man talk about a great tasting Martini with a slight kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hyannis, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
No offense to the recipe. I do not like Vermouth. I like mine on the rocks. I freeze my glass, add the ice. I use Tito's vodka which is extremely smooth. Squeeze fresh lemon and Dirty Sue's olive juice, just a dash. I then add stuffed blue cheese olives. Stir it up and enjoy! That is my favorite Martini on the rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Great for those who like vodka with olives. I like both but not together. I agree with the bartenders that some jar brine is laced with preservatives so choose carefully. I like Gin with a lemon twist and these days I have to be very explicit when I instruct the bartenders or I find olives in my drink. I suppose the olive crowd has taken over :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
A sure winner. This is the way I've been making them, except I use blue cheese stuffed olives. DON'T use the brine from them, use regular olive brine! I would also go the extra step of stuffing your own olives, store bought blue cheese olives are horrible. Olive stuffers can be purchased at any tavern supply store and some high end liquor stores, definitely worth the purchase.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kahlúa Espresso Martini

See how to make an espresso martini with vodka and Kahlua.

Vodka Martini Cocktail

See how to make a classic vodka martini.

Pumpkin Spice Martini

Festive holiday cocktail flavored with pumpkin liqueur.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States