Dirt Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I loved this! However, I left the butter out, because it just seemed completely unnecessary. Why add those extra calories when it tastes great without it? Layered the cookie crumbs and pudding mixture in a flower pot. A very fun and creative dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
I always mix my cream cheese with the cool whip and layer that and pudding seperatly, and I use chocolate pudding instead of vanilla, soooo good. I also omit the butter, just not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Keystone Heights, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2013
This is a very fun recipe for any party/event involving kids! I make it slightly differently; omit the butter entirely and put a generous layer of crushed cookies in the bottom of the pan. Then I layer pudding, cookies, pudding, cookies, etc. till the pan is full, ending with a cookie layer. Top with gummi worms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Everyone loved this and said it tasted better than any other dirt cake. I found it to be delicious but very sweet. I couldn't eat a large serving of this because of the sweetness. It was easy, and I will use the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
This is an excellent recipe! However, some reviewers have said they put the whipped cream on top and in my opinion that takes away from the desert. If it is done that way then it is no longer dirt cake it is simply a parfait. You do not have to use butter to make a crust if you don't want to. Crushed cookies work well as the bottom layer (this is how we always do it). Last, to avoid lumps of cream cheese just beat the cream cheese prior to adding it to the pudding mixture. You can even beat the cream cheese and powdered sugar together before adding it to the pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I do not like the crust type of a bottom, it always gets missed in the bottom of the pan. I take a whole pack of Oreo's and grind them up real fine and place in the bottom of a 13x9. I make the recipe filling part as directed however I add 1/2 cup of peanut butter to the creme cheese and mix together before blending it into the pudding. Then I use another half/whole pack of fine ground Oreo's on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smartt
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This dirt cake was a hit! I did make a few minor changes though. Did 2 cups milk instead of 3, used the whipped topping on top instead of mixing in with the pudding, then topped the whipped topping with crumbled sandwich cookies and gummy worms. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smartt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This recipe came out tasting better then I expected. I was addicted at first taste. I just thought with nothing solid to chew it wouldn't be good to eat but I was wrong. This is a great desert and easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Floyd

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Columbia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
I am not a big cake dessert eater, but this is excellent. Made it a few times and it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefclem

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I used chocolate pudding instead of vanilla and made this for a party. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States