Dirt Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ajo263
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I loved this, but as written it could used some tweaks. I left the butter out, because it just seemed completely unnecessary. Why add those extra calories when it tastes great without it? I used one package of oreos (14 oz.) and that was plenty. Also, I think the recipe should only call for an 8 oz. tub of cool whip; I used 12 oz. and it made way too much pudding mixture. I couldn't fit it all in the pot. A very fun, creative and yummy desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
The butter was way too much. I really think it could be made without it. I didn't follow the directions exactly and my butter wasn't softened enough, so I had chunks of butter throughout. It was a little gross. I think if I left the butter out it would have been perfect. I love the concept and taste. My 4yo daughter thought it was hilarious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I make this all the time with french vanilla pudding, cream cheese, and cool whip. Never used butter and confectioners sugar in it that seems to be too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I haven't tried this recipe yet. But i am curious to know if anybody has tried to make this with real heavy whipped cream instead of cool Whip? Thanks in advance for all answers... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katja

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hanau, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DebsWebWorks
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Easy and delicious, turned out perfect. I made it according to recipe, but begin layers with the white mixture. I will definitely use this recipe each time I need to make dirt cake. I garnished it by inserting a flower into the bowl, and I attached another flower to the serving spoon. Looks (and tastes) great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebsWebWorks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
everone loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This was amazing. I didn't use a food processor for the cookies. Just smashed them with a rolling pin. I think I prefer it that way so there are still chunks. I also used a 9x13 pan instead of a flower pot. I thought it was going to be too much, but it fit perfectly! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This recipe been in my family since i was a kid. I haven't been able to make it since i didn't have the recipe but this was awesome. My daughter LOVED it ! this would be a once in a blue type of recipe. It is very fattening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
When i was 5 yrs old i LOVE DIRT CAKE :3 They r delicous! Also When I Was At Meh Chruch Making These They Were HARD.... But until then i am 14 now i know how 2 make them bc i am SMART! :D And When I Am 25 yrs old i will make Delicous Dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
This was a huge hit especially with the kids. The flavor was amazing! I doubled it for a huge family gathering and it was shoveled down in one sitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 496) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States