Dirt Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2015
I made this for our grandchildren and they thought something was wrong with it because it "tasted different!" Discovered it was the addition of the cream cheese. next time I will leave it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2015
Very good as is but when I made it a second time I followed someone's advice of omitting the stick of butter and adding just a few tablespoons of milk to help mix the cream cheese. This is the way to go! Did not miss the butter one bit! That I think propels it to 5 stars for the obvious decrease in calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
Delicious!! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
It was way to sweet. I should have gone with some of the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammers LR L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This has been a hit at every office party! It's easy to put together and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rowdy Steele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Upon careful consideration of the comments , and after struggling to understand why this recipe "needs" butter...I took a chance and omitted the butter completely. Reason being, the cream cheese was already adding fat and smoothness, not to mention the fat from the milk? I also was concerned that it might be, not just sweet, but too sweet because I' m kind of sensitive to that. But cream cheese by itself is NOT sweet. So I added 1/4 c of powdered sugar rather than the full amount. I used Truwhip (no hydrogenation, natural ingedients) instead of CoolWhip but I believe the sweetness is the same?The end result was a little sweet-without the cookie crumbs, so I knew WITH the cookie crumbs it was going to taste great. And it did! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Made this for my husband's birthday (his request!) and it was a huge hit with everyone! SO not healthy but yummy for 1 x a year. Needed lots more Oreos than called for, makes a LOT of cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Everyone loves when I make this. My family and I don't care for the added gummy candies, so we skip those. Sometimes we'll add marshmallow Peeps to the top for decorations (easter, Peep ghosts and pumpkins for Halloween).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dqueen74
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Phenomenal! Everyone LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
The batter tastes like pure lard with all that butter and the finished product just tastes like a bowl of sugar. I mixed chocolate and French vanilla for a more "muddy" look that also tastes better than plain vanilla. As for the amount of cookies, I probably could have used more, though this could be due to one or both of the following: 1) the batter was too rich so thicker layers of cookie crumbs would have served to break up the lard consistency of the batter. 2) I manually crushed the Oreos, so they may not have been as fine as they would be had I used a food professor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 508) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States