Dirt Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This has been a hit at every office party! It's easy to put together and everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rowdy Steele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Upon careful consideration of the comments , and after struggling to understand why this recipe "needs" butter...I took a chance and omitted the butter completely. Reason being, the cream cheese was already adding fat and smoothness, not to mention the fat from the milk? I also was concerned that it might be, not just sweet, but too sweet because I' m kind of sensitive to that. But cream cheese by itself is NOT sweet. So I added 1/4 c of powdered sugar rather than the full amount. I used Truwhip (no hydrogenation, natural ingedients) instead of CoolWhip but I believe the sweetness is the same?The end result was a little sweet-without the cookie crumbs, so I knew WITH the cookie crumbs it was going to taste great. And it did! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Made this for my husband's birthday (his request!) and it was a huge hit with everyone! SO not healthy but yummy for 1 x a year. Needed lots more Oreos than called for, makes a LOT of cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Everyone loves when I make this. My family and I don't care for the added gummy candies, so we skip those. Sometimes we'll add marshmallow Peeps to the top for decorations (easter, Peep ghosts and pumpkins for Halloween).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dqueen74
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Phenomenal! Everyone LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
The batter tastes like pure lard with all that butter and the finished product just tastes like a bowl of sugar. I mixed chocolate and French vanilla for a more "muddy" look that also tastes better than plain vanilla. As for the amount of cookies, I probably could have used more, though this could be due to one or both of the following: 1) the batter was too rich so thicker layers of cookie crumbs would have served to break up the lard consistency of the batter. 2) I manually crushed the Oreos, so they may not have been as fine as they would be had I used a food professor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
We tweaked it a bit and eliminated the butter. It is always a huge hit. A couple of tips: Add a half teaspoon of mint extract, mint oreos and some green food coloring for a great mint dirt cake. (about 60 drops of green food coloring = the color of the mint oreo filling. Still experimenting and haven't converted that to a measurement yet.) Another tip is don't use anything fat free. I tried it with fat free cream cheese and it did not set up. The silver lining, though, was that in the freezer it froze to about the consistency of a low fat ice cream cake. My wife said, for a summer treat, this might actually be better than a traditional dirt cake! Oh well, back to the lab (kitchen) for more experiments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Cline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Great recipe. I also make sand cake switching out Oreos for Nilla wafers. We put it in new sand buckets for my daughter's beach birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ajo263
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I loved this, but as written it could used some tweaks. I left the butter out, because it just seemed completely unnecessary. Why add those extra calories when it tastes great without it? I used one package of oreos (14 oz.) and that was plenty. Also, I think the recipe should only call for an 8 oz. tub of cool whip; I used 12 oz. and it made way too much pudding mixture. I couldn't fit it all in the pot. A very fun, creative and yummy desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
The butter was way too much. I really think it could be made without it. I didn't follow the directions exactly and my butter wasn't softened enough, so I had chunks of butter throughout. It was a little gross. I think if I left the butter out it would have been perfect. I love the concept and taste. My 4yo daughter thought it was hilarious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 504) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States