Dirt Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
The batter tastes like pure lard with all that butter and the finished product just tastes like a bowl of sugar. I mixed chocolate and French vanilla for a more "muddy" look that also tastes better than plain vanilla. As for the amount of cookies, I probably could have used more, though this could be due to one or both of the following: 1) the batter was too rich so thicker layers of cookie crumbs would have served to break up the lard consistency of the batter. 2) I manually crushed the Oreos, so they may not have been as fine as they would be had I used a food professor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
We tweaked it a bit and eliminated the butter. It is always a huge hit. A couple of tips: Add a half teaspoon of mint extract, mint oreos and some green food coloring for a great mint dirt cake. (about 60 drops of green food coloring = the color of the mint oreo filling. Still experimenting and haven't converted that to a measurement yet.) Another tip is don't use anything fat free. I tried it with fat free cream cheese and it did not set up. The silver lining, though, was that in the freezer it froze to about the consistency of a low fat ice cream cake. My wife said, for a summer treat, this might actually be better than a traditional dirt cake! Oh well, back to the lab (kitchen) for more experiments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Cline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Great recipe. I also make sand cake switching out Oreos for Nilla wafers. We put it in new sand buckets for my daughter's beach birthday party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ajo263
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I loved this, but as written it could used some tweaks. I left the butter out, because it just seemed completely unnecessary. Why add those extra calories when it tastes great without it? I used one package of oreos (14 oz.) and that was plenty. Also, I think the recipe should only call for an 8 oz. tub of cool whip; I used 12 oz. and it made way too much pudding mixture. I couldn't fit it all in the pot. A very fun, creative and yummy desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ajo263

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
The butter was way too much. I really think it could be made without it. I didn't follow the directions exactly and my butter wasn't softened enough, so I had chunks of butter throughout. It was a little gross. I think if I left the butter out it would have been perfect. I love the concept and taste. My 4yo daughter thought it was hilarious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I make this all the time with french vanilla pudding, cream cheese, and cool whip. Never used butter and confectioners sugar in it that seems to be too rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I haven't tried this recipe yet. But i am curious to know if anybody has tried to make this with real heavy whipped cream instead of cool Whip? Thanks in advance for all answers... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katja

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hanau, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debbie Gardner
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Easy and delicious, turned out perfect. I made it according to recipe, but begin layers with the white mixture. I will definitely use this recipe each time I need to make dirt cake. I garnished it by inserting a flower into the bowl, and I attached another flower to the serving spoon. Looks (and tastes) great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Gardner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
everone loved this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This was amazing. I didn't use a food processor for the cookies. Just smashed them with a rolling pin. I think I prefer it that way so there are still chunks. I also used a 9x13 pan instead of a flower pot. I thought it was going to be too much, but it fit perfectly! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 499) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States