Dirt Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I should have reviewed this years ago!! This is my go to dirt recipe. I have put it in holiday containers as a gift and people expect me to bring this to every event. I use cheesecake flavored pudding instead of the vanilla and it really takes it up a notch. Thanks for years of family fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Love, Love, Love this recipe!!! It taste good and looks fun to eat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Great recipe! Brought it to a party and everyone loved it! Notes: (1)I didn't have a food processor, just a Magic Bullet. I crushed most of the cookies by hand (put them in a plastic bag and smashed them), but did the top layer with the Magic Bullet- that gave the top layer a much more realistic 'dirt' look. (2) This fit perfectly into a disposable aluminum chicken roaster pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I made the recipe with one vanilla and did a chocolate one too. The vanilla seemed to be the hit in our house. I'm keeping this recipe forever in my private cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by watx
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This makes a great pirate map as well. In a flat pan do one half as sand and the other as dirt. Instead of worms hide pirate booty/chocolate coins and add some colored coconut for water and grass. Of course you need to use candies to lead to your "x" marks the spot. Very fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodell77
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Made it for a baby shower with a "snakes & snails" theme and it was just perfect. Everyone loved it. It is very sweet and rich, next time I may omit the powdered sugar in the cream mixture as the oreos are plenty sweet on their own and it all ends up mixing together on the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This was great but the only thing I would have changed is I will use chocolate pudding next time instead of vanilla. It looks more like dirt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
mmm.. dirt! The kids love this.. and so do the adults! I always follow the recipe exactly.. but, definitely use whole milk and good quality butter (I use Land of Lakes). Also, you can alternate this recipe a little bit.. you can make "mud" by using chocolate pudding mix or you can make "sand" by using vanilla oreo cookies rather than chocolate (and the "sand" is heavenly.. oh-my!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amphiktere

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This is always great for a group. I've tried many variations...chocolate pudding & oreos, and my favorite, vanilla pudding with crushed packaged oatmeal cookies. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This is an excellent dessert...kids love it! However, I doubled the cream cheese (to make it a bit more creamy) and cut the powdered suger to 1/3 cup (a bit less sweet -- 1/4 cup was not enough to cream the butter properly). Everything else I kept the same...but I did add gummy worms at the kid's request! They love the gummy worms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 498) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States