Dirt Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
Very nice recipe. My 2 year old daughter loved making this "cake" along with me for her daddy's birthday. She loved putting the dirt and worms on the cake. Everyone really enjoyed this dessert and it was perfect for a halloween birthday. We just put in in a large cake pan, layered it as directed, and then spelled out "Happy Birthday Dad" with the gummy worms. Great easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Kids loved it. The only reason I give it 4 out of 5 stars is because of the calorie intake. I had to cut the portions in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
LOVE LOVE LOVE! I made this for my mom's surprise 50th/ Halloween party and it was the only dessert that had no leftovers! I followed the recipe exactly and the cream cheese/ pudding mixture was perfect with the chocolate cookies. I made it in a foil tin and added marshmallow gravestones, ghost peeps, and gummy worms. It was adorable, really wish I had taken a picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TNCOUCH
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
this was a huge hit at the office family Halloween party today. We used Milano cookies as grave stones & made the ghosts/guys coming out of the ground out of marshmallows (covered with cocoa powder). I omitted the butter & confectioners sugar. Didn't miss those ingredients one bit. Also used fat free/sugar free pudding & cool whip. Thank you for the recipe Tammy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TNCOUCH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was a breeze to make and the hit of the party. With a baby in the house, I never have time to make a dish from start to finish in one shot. This is a great recipe for those with a tiny time budget. Day 1, I crushed the oreos. Day 2, I made the butter mixture. Day 3, I made the pudding mixture and added it to the butter. Day 4, I put it all together, decorated it, and ate it! I must say, though, this is expensive to make compared to a regular old cake. Very few of the ingredients are pantry staples, so I had to go out and buy all these processed foods. Cream cheese - $3. Cool whip - $4. Oreos - $7. Pudding - $2. Decorations - $5. Holy cow! $21 for DIRT CAKE??? Not so great for those with a tiny money budget. By the way, I decorated it with gummy worms and fake body parts. I layered it in a glass cake dish and I was disappointed that the cream layer was white, so layered the effect looks more like an oreo than dirt. I added about 5 tablespoons of cocoa powder, plus food coloring, to turn it brown. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natashaelise

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
So fun and almost shockingly delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I should have reviewed this years ago!! This is my go to dirt recipe. I have put it in holiday containers as a gift and people expect me to bring this to every event. I use cheesecake flavored pudding instead of the vanilla and it really takes it up a notch. Thanks for years of family fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Love, Love, Love this recipe!!! It taste good and looks fun to eat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Great recipe! Brought it to a party and everyone loved it! Notes: (1)I didn't have a food processor, just a Magic Bullet. I crushed most of the cookies by hand (put them in a plastic bag and smashed them), but did the top layer with the Magic Bullet- that gave the top layer a much more realistic 'dirt' look. (2) This fit perfectly into a disposable aluminum chicken roaster pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I made the recipe with one vanilla and did a chocolate one too. The vanilla seemed to be the hit in our house. I'm keeping this recipe forever in my private cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 504) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dirt Cake I

Fool 'em with a fun cake that looks just like a flower pot.

Tiramisu Layer Cake

This rich, coffee-flavored classic is surprisingly easy to make.

Black Magic Cake

See how to make one of moistest chocolate cakes in existence.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States