Dip For The Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
This is a GREAT recipe, delicious flavors. It makes a ton of dip. It's not really a dip, but more of a layered "torte" of cheese, pesto, sundried tomatoes, etc. I made it for a Christmas gathering, and even with 15 guests, I still had quite a bit left over. I would suggest lining your serving plate with basil leaves so that they peek out from under the dip. Great presentation! Make sure to serve with crackers that are not salty. A toasted Italian bread or a sturdy water cracker works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This was very good and enjoyed by our guests. The only changes I made in the preparation was that I put the sundried tomatoes in the food processor. I do not care for them in chunks and it really spread more easily. I also put this in a small 4" springform pan. I did line it with plastic and it was so easy to present and looked beautiful. I was asked for the recipe and I will certainly make it again....oh, I used vodka too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Absolutely the best dip ever! I made it for a holiday party this past weekend - everyone loved it AND many asked me for the recipe~! I did make a few changes based on other reviews. First off I made my own pesto sauce from this recipe off the site: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Pesto-Sauce/Detail.aspx - I halved the amount, used pine nuts and didn't add much salt which I think is really what made the dip as a whole good because I think store bought pesto is much saltier and the dip is already very flavorful on its own. For the dip, I also halved the recipe, still made a lot good for 15-20 people. Used a creamy feta, fresh cream cheese from a cheese market. Used about 1 1/4 cup of sun dried tomatoes in jar in oil - but made sure to drain as much oil as possible. Used all the pesto which was about 1 1/2 cup, again try to leave out oily parts. I added more tomatoes and pesto because other reviews stated there was too much cheese mixture, and it's true. So I just made the dip as I wanted and added more of the other layers. Best served with whole wheat pita or baguettes and make sure you place them on a separate plate because the dip will still be a bit oily on the bottom. WONDERFUL DIP!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This spread is delicious and unique. It truly is much more colorful than this photo depicts. Couple of tips...I've gotten the best reviews when I serve the spread with slices of baguette bread. The flavor is simply too overwhelming for a cracker in my opinion. The bread slice stands up to the texture and flavors quite nicely and it makes the perfect two-bite appetizer. This recipe goes a LONG way as it's quite rich. I agree with those who say leave the butter in. The texture would change too much without it. I have found, however, that I need to soak up some of the oil that leeches out of the spread from the pesto and sundried tomatoes. It looks nicer if you clean it up a bit once it's set. You won't have to worry how it looks for long, however, because it will be GONE! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
I used my large mixer with a wire beater instead of my tiny processor. This recipe makes a large amount that my processor cannot accomodate. Came out wonderfully. Next time I'll double the amount of tomatoes and nuts and increase the pesto to 1 c. since there is so much cheese mixture. Let it come to room temperature before eating, otherwise it will be crumbly. This is a wonderful recipe for entertaining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
This dip is raved over everytime. I served it at a dinner party and between 8 people the entire recipe was gone (that is a LOT of dip!). I've been asked to make it several times since. What is especially impressive is that since things are whipped together in the food processor, all of the flavors melt together beautifully, and no one knows what makes them love it so much! If I paid top dollar for this at a restaurant I would not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
My sister made this for a party and people could not stop talking about how delicious this "dip" was. (It's actually more like a spread for crackers.) She halved the recipe for the amount of people attending and it was more than sufficient. The presentation is spectacular, not to mention how wonderful the ingredients taste together. Simply outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
Excellent. I will definitely make this again. I omitted the butter and added extra cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
This is just wonderful! The photo doesn't look at all like what it looks like--gorgeous red tomatoes atop layers of white, green and red. So great for Christmas! This is very rich. I didn't think that it would make a lot, but it really goes a long way. Will make again at the Holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
This was a great recipe. I was a little nervous because I never made anything like this before but everyone loved it. I took it to a Night at the Races event and even people from the next table wanted the recipe. I gave them the name of the recipe and the adress to this great web site. I will definately make it again. It looks like it took a lot of time but it really didn't. Thanks Dana for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANE BULANDA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States