Dip For The Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I halved this recipe and it was perfect! I did use less feta and butter, sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celeste

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Helena, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Excellent and everyone loved it! It also had great presentation with a WOW factor--great to take to a party. I will be making it again just on a smaller scale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
delicious, but makes a lot!! doesn't need butter. used spring form. used vodka (instead of vermouth, cause its what i had). used sun-dried tomatoes not packaged in oil & then added a little oil & used my magic bullet to chop up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MITHRILROS
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was a great dip, and I used it in a pancetta lined Halloween mask to use as a mold for a Silence of the Lambs effect. The mixture of the sun dried tomatoes, pine nuts, and pesto made a great effect for a Halloween theme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
So good! I've been wanting to try this recipe for so long and I'm so glad that I finally did! I even forgot the vermouth and it was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shelby Township, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I made this for the first time for a couple shower I hosted for 40 people. I was nervous since I had never made it before but it turned out awesome and many people raved about it!! Here is what I did a little differently - used a 9" spring form pan - used vodka instead of vermouth - used store bought sun dried tomato spread - used 3 garlic cloves (this was too many, will use 1 - 2 next time) - used 1/4 to 1/2 c more pesto, sun dried tomatoes than called for served with water crackers and small toasted slice baquettes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
This is one fabulous dip! I made 2 for a large bridal shower, one with gorgonzola and one with fete. The gorgonzola dip won-hands down. Thanks for sharing this great appetizer Dana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I have made this for Christmas parties. I usually skip the butter, because it seems out of place to me and isn't needed. I usually mix the pesto and sundried tomatoes together and alternate layers of cheese mixture and tomato pesto mixture and then top with toasted pine nuts when it is unmolded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrieannro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poplar Grove, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
Delicious, beautiful and actually quite easy to make! It was very flavorful and a hit. I might decrease the feta and butter/increase the cream cheese next time, due to my own preferences, but it really is wonderful as is. The directions are spot on perfect - easy to follow. The only other thing I would add is if you're using store bought or very oily pesto, drain it some, or else the dip will "weep" green basil flavored oil - doesn't hurt the taste at all, but distracts from such a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Each of the 5 stars I have rated this are VERY well-deserved. I served this at a party we had last weekend and have promised to share the recipe with no less than 6 people! I especially like this recipe because the techniques (like lining the mold with Saran Wrap) and ingredients used allow me to adapt this recipe to other favorite flavors. Thanks for this GREAT recipe, Dana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States