Dip For The Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I've made this few of times now and it's always been a hit. It's a staple now at my holiday parties. Wonderful served with baked pita chips, celery sticks, and carrot sticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This is decadent. Made this for a party and everyone loved it. The complimenting layers of creamy cheese, tangy tomatoes, crunchy pine nuts and rich pesto are a brillaint match, and made a beautiful dish. People couldn't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Every time I make this I get compliments! I never have vermouth on hand so I just subsitute it with vodka (stoli) and it still works great. I drain the tomatoes and pesto REALLY well before layering it all together. And I agree with another member that it tastes better served on bread than crackers. One time I used a tiny bit of gorgonzola in place the of feta which was really good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Canepa

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Pretty and great tasting spread. A little work but, worth it. My extended family event loved it and ate every morsel begging for the recipe!! Yet, my boyfriends family didn't seem as thrilled. It is a FULL flavored dip with strong feta, garlic flavors. Crowds that are more timid might not like it as well. Great presentation and conversation starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I had pretty good reviews on Christmas when I brought this dish to the inlaws. I followed the recipe pretty closely, other than using vodka instead, and using more sundried tomatoes, drained, and pureed. I also put it in a bundt pan, using only one layer of each ingredient. I used food coloring to dye slivered almonds green for the top layer.. It made for such a beautiful presentation.. very festive and yummy wreath for Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseApril

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
so good! Always HUGE hit. A little expensive to make, but worth it in the compliments i get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
In the recipe's defense, I think this one was my fault. The butter did not blend well at all, but I think maybe I have a problem with my blender. No one liked this at my house. I think the feta was too overpowering for them with all the other strong flavors in the recipe. I don't think I will make this again, but it sounded really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Delicious, easy prep, looks colorful, and it's a make ahead appetizer to top it off! Doesn't get any better in my book. I've seen & tried other versions of this recipe, but I like this one better. I like the feta and shallots make the difference. Others loved it too. Try it, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Sorry! We tried to like it but it just didn't look very appetizing so the football partygoers passed it by for the most part. It was awfully salty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States