Dip For The Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
Every time I make this I get compliments! I never have vermouth on hand so I just subsitute it with vodka (stoli) and it still works great. I drain the tomatoes and pesto REALLY well before layering it all together. And I agree with another member that it tastes better served on bread than crackers. One time I used a tiny bit of gorgonzola in place the of feta which was really good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Canepa

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Pretty and great tasting spread. A little work but, worth it. My extended family event loved it and ate every morsel begging for the recipe!! Yet, my boyfriends family didn't seem as thrilled. It is a FULL flavored dip with strong feta, garlic flavors. Crowds that are more timid might not like it as well. Great presentation and conversation starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I had pretty good reviews on Christmas when I brought this dish to the inlaws. I followed the recipe pretty closely, other than using vodka instead, and using more sundried tomatoes, drained, and pureed. I also put it in a bundt pan, using only one layer of each ingredient. I used food coloring to dye slivered almonds green for the top layer.. It made for such a beautiful presentation.. very festive and yummy wreath for Christmas!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseApril

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
so good! Always HUGE hit. A little expensive to make, but worth it in the compliments i get.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
In the recipe's defense, I think this one was my fault. The butter did not blend well at all, but I think maybe I have a problem with my blender. No one liked this at my house. I think the feta was too overpowering for them with all the other strong flavors in the recipe. I don't think I will make this again, but it sounded really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Delicious, easy prep, looks colorful, and it's a make ahead appetizer to top it off! Doesn't get any better in my book. I've seen & tried other versions of this recipe, but I like this one better. I like the feta and shallots make the difference. Others loved it too. Try it, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Sorry! We tried to like it but it just didn't look very appetizing so the football partygoers passed it by for the most part. It was awfully salty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Absolutely the best dip ever! I made it for a holiday party this past weekend - everyone loved it AND many asked me for the recipe~! I did make a few changes based on other reviews. First off I made my own pesto sauce from this recipe off the site: http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Pesto-Sauce/Detail.aspx - I halved the amount, used pine nuts and didn't add much salt which I think is really what made the dip as a whole good because I think store bought pesto is much saltier and the dip is already very flavorful on its own. For the dip, I also halved the recipe, still made a lot good for 15-20 people. Used a creamy feta, fresh cream cheese from a cheese market. Used about 1 1/4 cup of sun dried tomatoes in jar in oil - but made sure to drain as much oil as possible. Used all the pesto which was about 1 1/2 cup, again try to leave out oily parts. I added more tomatoes and pesto because other reviews stated there was too much cheese mixture, and it's true. So I just made the dip as I wanted and added more of the other layers. Best served with whole wheat pita or baguettes and make sure you place them on a separate plate because the dip will still be a bit oily on the bottom. WONDERFUL DIP!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sonia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
Everyone raves about this dip everytime I make it! I made it for the first time last year and I've been begged to make it to each gathering since! It is already perfect but there are a couple things that I do that I think make it even better... I buy the sundried tomato that comes in a jar with olive so I drain it and I use the food processor to make it more of a sundried tomato paste layer. It's easier to eat and it tastes really good to people like my husband that aren't fans of sundried tomatoes. I always drain the pesto so it isn't so oily. I use extra pine nuts... people love the pine nuts and the first time I made it I felt there wasn't enough! I usually only do the layers once each instead of repeating it. I love to use shaped dishes so that it comes out looking really nice once you turn it over. I always use vodka. The best crackers to use are plain good crackers... crackers with any flavor is not the best choice because then there's too much going on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States