Dip For The Stars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This was WONDERFUL!! Did not change anything. If anything I probably used more sundried tomatos than it called for. Makes a ton!! Made this for the family Christmas gathering and my sisters have told me that this is good on much more than crackers! They used leftovers on baked potatoes, hamburgers and said it is good to just "eat" by itself! I put it in a bunt pan as someone else suggested and it came out beautiful. Keep in mind this is not at all an inexpensive dish to make but well worth the cost and effort! Only thing I would change is trying to get some of the oil out of the pesto (I used store bought pesto)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This recipe provides a very generous portion! We were surprised at how big the dome turned out. It is a good dip for Christmas because of the red, green, and white colored layers. I used sun dried tomato cream cheese and mediterranean feta cheese for an extra kick. If you're using a big bowl, you may have to spread the layers around just the outside rim in order to see them in the finished product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Thank goodness for everyday home cooks to have the creativity & spirit to play with recipes! This recipe has a great start, but I've made this a few times and made the following changes: use a bundt pan (to get a holiday wreath shape & do go 2 layers - it's gorgeous!) Use half feta & half gorgonzola (or find a milder cheese to your liking), definitely do NOT use a shallot - too strong. Replace it by 1/2 amount of onion. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I would not hesitate to make this again. Cut the recipe in half for a party of 16 and there was plenty left over. I did not make the double layer as suggested I thought it would be too over powering. I used a small saucepan for my mold and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chesterfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is fabulous.I made it for a friend's holiday party. I sent it early and I arrived late. By the time I made it to the party, it was gone. Everyone loved it. I used 1/2 c. butter and the flavor and consistency were great. One cup seemed like too much to me. While you maybe tempted to leave it out, I think theconsistency would be too soft to hold the shape. The presentation of this dish is spactacular, esp. for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dunellen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Excellent Dip! After tasting just the cheese mixture during prep, I have to say I had reservations so far as to call my husband and tell him I may need a back up appetizer for the party we were going to. But was I pleasantly surprised. Used minced onions instead of shallots amd vodka instead of vermouth. The flavors are dreamy and we all devoured it!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
This is a beautiful, delicious, festive dip! Everyone at my party loved it!! It is easy to make if you have a food processor. I made these adjustments, based on what I had in the kitchen: 12 oz cream cheese (light); 5 oz feta (light), green onions instead of shallot; black pepper instead of white; homemade pesto (to control the oil); and white balsamic vinegar instead of vermouth. Perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
this dip was really good, and I really liked all of the layers, but take a bite with the tomatoes, pesto, and cheese, it was quite a bit strong. im not sure what i can do to tone down the cheese layer. i did use non-salted butter, but maybe feta is high in sodium? i also only added a 3/4 T minced garlic, so i'm not sure what to do to tone this down. great presentation, and for the most part, great flavor. looks christmasy with the colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
This recipe is amazing! I used vodka and it was perfect! I took it to a Christmas party and all the ladies asked for the recipe! It makes a lot more than I thought. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Really good. Much more flavorful than what I have had previously. However, I used only one stick of butter, a 4oz. pkg of feta cheese and half of a shallot. Everything else I left the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexander, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 275) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

How to Make Crab and Artichoke Dip

See how to make a creamy crab dip baked in a bread bowl.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States