Dinner in a Pumpkin I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
LOVE THIS!! I have been making this for my Halloween dinner for over five years! The only thing is that you need minute rice other wise you can cook that pumpkin till it turns black and you still will get hard rice! I love that when you scoop it out, you get all that pumpkin!! Marvelous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
The first time I tried to make this I ended up with the wrong kind of cooking pumpkin, and I wouldn't have been able to get into its hard shell without boiling it for an hour. So I went pumpkinless, and made a casserole with the cabbage and filling instead, and my family went completely bonkers for it! I modified the recipe a little - used ground turkey instead of beef, tripled the garlic (we love love love garlic), and used Trader Joe's low-fat creamy tomato soup instead of tomato juice because I had it on-hand; also, as recommended by other reviewers, I omitted the green beans and cooked the rice half-way before adding to the other ingredients. I also probably used 4 or 5 cups of coarsely chopped cabbage. Layered in a casserole, cabbage on bottom, meat/soup/rice mixture on top, with a few cabbage sprinkles on top, this was really fabulous, and has been added to my regular meal planning rotation. I did cook the filling in a pumpkin once and it was great, but we were all a little disappointed in having a change to the dish we liked so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This was great for fall, there is so much cooked pumpkin that I used it the next day to mashed up with some sour cream and seasoning as a side to a steak. I used tomato sauce not juice but next time I will use 1 of the 3 cups of crushed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
This was an awesome recipe!! I used tomato sauce instead b/c I didn't have any tomato juice. Also added 1/2 bay leave since it enhances tomato flavor. The only mistake I made was not covering the pumpkin. The rice wasn't cooked very well:( But the presentation was still good and hubby ate a lot!! TY Sara, this will be a nice family meal for special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Good, fun holiday recipe. But I cooked it at 350 degrees for 3 hours and the rice still wasn't cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
A very good recipe. My children absolutely loved it! One suggestion I would make is leaving out the green beans. It has a "stuffed cabbage" taste and the beans don't go with it. Cook the pumpkin on a roasting pan to avoid the potential mess in your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I gave this 4 stars because I too tweaked the recipe. I followed suggestions and did not use as much tomato juice. I used one can of Tomato Sauce, 1 Can Diced Tomatoes w/ Basil & Oregano, and a splash of tomato juice to make sure there was enough moisture. I didn't have Italian seasoning, so I threw in a 1/2 teaspoon of Oregano, Thyme, Basil & Garlic Powder. I also used 2 4lb pumpkins, and it took about 2 1/2 hours to make. Everyone loved to recipe, and we will definitely make this a Halloween Tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
We loved this recipe and will use it as a tradition the day after Halloween every year from now on!! I used instead, a bit more garlic, added onion powder, tomato soup, minute rice & frozen peas. It was a beautiful presentation and very yummy! I'm sure you could do this with an acorn squash as well. Try adding pumpkin seeds on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Enjoyed this meal very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURMAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zapata, Texas, USA
Living In: Denison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
please add recommendation to put pumpkin in a roasting pan. The pumpkin sagged and juice ran into the oven; making a rather considerable mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States