Dinner in a Pumpkin I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
please add recommendation to put pumpkin in a roasting pan. The pumpkin sagged and juice ran into the oven; making a rather considerable mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
A very good recipe. My children absolutely loved it! One suggestion I would make is leaving out the green beans. It has a "stuffed cabbage" taste and the beans don't go with it. Cook the pumpkin on a roasting pan to avoid the potential mess in your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
This was an awesome recipe!! I used tomato sauce instead b/c I didn't have any tomato juice. Also added 1/2 bay leave since it enhances tomato flavor. The only mistake I made was not covering the pumpkin. The rice wasn't cooked very well:( But the presentation was still good and hubby ate a lot!! TY Sara, this will be a nice family meal for special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I didn't actually follow this recipe. I made the 'Harvest Pork Stew' from this site, and baked it in a pumpkin. I just thought it would be helpful to share that I baked my pumpkin at 350 for about 2 hours, and thought it was done because I poked it near the top with a fork and it was tender. When I was serving the stew though, the bottom half of the pumpkin was still hard and not fully cooked. Make sure to check the pumpkin near the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
We loved this recipe and will use it as a tradition the day after Halloween every year from now on!! I used instead, a bit more garlic, added onion powder, tomato soup, minute rice & frozen peas. It was a beautiful presentation and very yummy! I'm sure you could do this with an acorn squash as well. Try adding pumpkin seeds on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Good, fun holiday recipe. But I cooked it at 350 degrees for 3 hours and the rice still wasn't cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I've made a similar Supper in a Pumpkin for years, using sausage, lima beans, and no cabbage. I didn't have the uncooked rice problem after I started using Instant Rice. I have never cooked anything in my oven without a pan under it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brittani F.
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This dish was wonderful! The reason I gave it only 4 stars was because, I used some instant rice and some regular rice and the regular rice DID NOT cook. You must either use instant rice or precook your rice otherwise it wont be done. I cooked it for the full 3 hours. Also I used a carving pumpkin because all the pie pumpkins we very small and this makes ALOT! You should also use a very deep pan to cook this in bacause the pumpkin gets very soft and there is alot of juice. One sugesstion was to use 1 cup crushed tomato and 3 cups tomato sauce instead of the juice, which I did and I think it turned out better that it would have with the juice.I have to say though it is VERY YUMMY I will make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
LOVE THIS!! I have been making this for my Halloween dinner for over five years! The only thing is that you need minute rice other wise you can cook that pumpkin till it turns black and you still will get hard rice! I love that when you scoop it out, you get all that pumpkin!! Marvelous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This was great for fall, there is so much cooked pumpkin that I used it the next day to mashed up with some sour cream and seasoning as a side to a steak. I used tomato sauce not juice but next time I will use 1 of the 3 cups of crushed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States