Dinner in a Pumpkin I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was a huge hit with my family on Halloween night! I did as other reviewers suggested and left out the green beans, but added a little shredded cheddar cheese between layers. Dinner was cooked to perfection in the time it took me to bring my kids trick or treating. The presentation alone cannot be beat but we enjoyed the flavors so much we plan to make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Johnson Condon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Very tasty. However, my rice was not cooked all the way. next time will pre cook rice half way then add tomato paste to replace the tomato juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I didn't actually follow this recipe. I made the 'Harvest Pork Stew' from this site, and baked it in a pumpkin. I just thought it would be helpful to share that I baked my pumpkin at 350 for about 2 hours, and thought it was done because I poked it near the top with a fork and it was tender. When I was serving the stew though, the bottom half of the pumpkin was still hard and not fully cooked. Make sure to check the pumpkin near the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This was great for fall, there is so much cooked pumpkin that I used it the next day to mashed up with some sour cream and seasoning as a side to a steak. I used tomato sauce not juice but next time I will use 1 of the 3 cups of crushed tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nathan Austin Jacroux

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
We loved this recipe and will use it as a tradition the day after Halloween every year from now on!! I used instead, a bit more garlic, added onion powder, tomato soup, minute rice & frozen peas. It was a beautiful presentation and very yummy! I'm sure you could do this with an acorn squash as well. Try adding pumpkin seeds on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
I've made a similar Supper in a Pumpkin for years, using sausage, lima beans, and no cabbage. I didn't have the uncooked rice problem after I started using Instant Rice. I have never cooked anything in my oven without a pan under it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
Good, fun holiday recipe. But I cooked it at 350 degrees for 3 hours and the rice still wasn't cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
This was an awesome recipe!! I used tomato sauce instead b/c I didn't have any tomato juice. Also added 1/2 bay leave since it enhances tomato flavor. The only mistake I made was not covering the pumpkin. The rice wasn't cooked very well:( But the presentation was still good and hubby ate a lot!! TY Sara, this will be a nice family meal for special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kowloon City, Kowloon Peninsula, Hong Kong
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
A very good recipe. My children absolutely loved it! One suggestion I would make is leaving out the green beans. It has a "stuffed cabbage" taste and the beans don't go with it. Cook the pumpkin on a roasting pan to avoid the potential mess in your oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
please add recommendation to put pumpkin in a roasting pan. The pumpkin sagged and juice ran into the oven; making a rather considerable mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cozy Winter Dinner

Nothing makes a dinner party more inviting than satisfying comfort food.

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Spicy Pumpkin Chili

Pumpkin puree and pumpkin pie spice do wonders for this beef and bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States