Dinette Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
This is a great starter cake, I have made it for years. The boston cream pie variation is the best. But try filling it with a clear lemon filling and drizzle with a lemon glaze. Great, easy, and your fillings and frostings are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
My guests raved over this retro 1950's style cake. I did make a few adjustments however as follows: I used baking soda and cream of tartar instead of baking powder, I used baker's sugar, sea salt, butter instead of shortening and I upped the 100% real vanilla extract 2 Tablespoons as well as adding 2 Tablespoons of dried lemon zest and I used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of milk. My cake was perfect topped with the chocolate sour cream frosting I found elsewhere on this site and fresh raspberries to decorate the top. I was the best dessert I have made in ages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tangerine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
This was not good at all:-( tasted like cardboard and was very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I use this recipe when I want to make Boston Cream Pie, or have short notice dinner guest. Can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
On taste alone it was Delicious! But it was very crumbly very hard to eat. For me its not worth trying again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This turned out awful for me. The flavor was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
The results produce a very heavy cake, not much flavor and a very strange texture. I do alot of baking. This is just not a good recipe for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This is a five star. This Dinette cake recipe was in my old Betty Crocker paperback. But here's the wonderful twist. In a 13x9 baking pan put a stick of real butter and set it in the oven to melt while the oven is warming up to 350. Meanwhile mix all the ingredients in a bowl. (I just put everything in a bowl and mix with a whisk.) When the butter is melted add 1 cup of packed brown sugar, spread evenly over the butter. Sprinkle with a good cinnamon and then *Here's the twist* open a large (29 ozs) can of sliced peaches plus 1 small can (15 ozs) in heavy syrup and pour over the butter, brown sugar, cinnamon. Sprinkle with a little extra cinnamon and bake for about 35 minutes until a tooth pick comes out clean. The "peach cobbler" will be moist and syrupy which with a good vanilla ice cream is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I've been using this recipe as a base for pineapple upside down cake for years. It's not too sweet, perfectly moist and just makes the upside down cake as a whole perfect. love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This is a small, versatile vanilla cake made with ingredients that are always on hand. Our family is small and we don't really need a big cake so it's perfect for us. I've used for cupcakes and strawberry shortcake, both with great results. While it is very simple, the flavor and texture are distinctly homemade--so much better than a mix, yet just as easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAMOM247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States