Diner-Style Baked Potato Home Fries Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
We had some leftover grilled potatoes, (recipe from this website)! and i used those for this dish the next day. I made sure to use my cast iron skillet as that makes charring the potatoes to a crisp super easy. I dont mean burning the potatoes, just getting some of the little bits nice and crunchy, and it was good that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
I've been making home fries for years and they are delicious when made with bacon grease instead of butter, and, (if you can tolerate) with extra onions. Never tried with baked potatoes, but will now. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
To make this recipe easier and just as tasty, slice your baked potatoes and place in plastic bag with olive oil, coat and place on cookie sheet lined with non-stick foil, season and bake at 375 -400 until crispy. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Easy and delicious way to use up potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Simple and good. As you can tell by my picture, I used red potatoes - just a personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This has become a weekend breakfast menu item in my home. My husband and I miss our NJ diners living in the south. He loves these home fries and reminds him of a diner in NJ! Delicious! This morning I added a little garlic and paprika. Just perfect, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Well thanks Gowins for making my taters look bad!! My family went nuts on these! And if I'm perfectly honest, I'll have to admit that I liked them too. I did add a clove or two of garlic, which I thought made them perfect. I think this is a good base. You can add herbs and spices to make these wonderful potatoes yours. I love recipes like this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Even better use leftover salt potatoes cut in to chunks. Have used for homefries in different kitchens I've worked and customers have gone nuts over them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
i added some bell pepper to the mix and a little red pepper flake and some chopped fresh garlic, good stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Delicious. I have been making this for 50 years, but I add chopped bacon and some chopped green pepper to the potatoes while frying in butter and oil. (or chopped chili pepper for a Southwestern diversion - Mary J.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Home Fries

See how to make crispy home fries the easy way.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States