Dinah's Baked Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
I have made this several times and love it. I am glad I read the reviews from others who had tried it. I did cut the butter down to 1/4 cup, added a splash of sherry, a couple dashes of hot sauce. I also added some old bay seasoning with the cracker crumbs when breading the scallops. I put the cracker crumbs, old bay, and garlic power in a plastic bag. Add the scallops and shake to coat then press any remaining loose crumbs into the scallops. If you spoon the liquid over the scallops you won't wash the crumb mixture off them. Baked as suggested but the last 2 minutes remove and sprinkle with parmesan cheese and broil the last 2 minutes. Will be making this one as often as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
I wrote this recipe and did not intend for anyone to use the entire amount of butter-by the term "drizzling" I meant to lightly coat with the butter mixture-there will surely be some leftover
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
In order to rate this a 5 star I did heed others advise and added 2 cloves of fresh garlic, cut down on the crackers and the butter. Also added some red pepper flakes and some freshly grated parmesan cheese. After it baked I also put the dish under the broiler for a few minutes to brown it some more. It was delicious and will make it again with those improvements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2004
My husband gave this one 5 stars and I agree. It is super easy to make so we had a "weekend" type meal in the middle of the week. I followed some of the previous suggestions and cut the butter & wine in half. I just drizzled a little over the scallops right before I put them in the oven. They were not "swimming" in the liquid so I didn't have problems with them being too mushy like some reviewers mentioned. I also turned the broiler on for a couple of minutes right before I took them out of the oven. I think it works best to use fine cracker crumbs. Mine had a great flavor, they were gold brown but not crispy like a fried scallop. Thanks for an good and easy recipe. My husband has already said he would like me to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
These are FANTASTIC. The only thing I think I will try differently next time is to decrease the time at 350 degrees to 12 minutes and then pop them into the broiler for the last 3 minutes. I did broil them when I cooked them, but only for 2 minutes. It wasn't quite long enough, but my hubby still loved these scallops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MCCATHERN MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Delicious! I found this recipe by searching for a Spiedino De Mare recipe similar to Carrabba's Italian Grill. I did change a few things after reading the other reviews. I rinsed and dried the scallops, drizzled them in olive oil, and sprinkled them with sea salt and pepper. I didn't have buttery crackers around, so I substituted for multi-grain Club crackers and added crushed red pepper flakes and garlic powder to the cracker mix and coated the scallops in a Ziplock baggie. I cooked them at the suggested 350 for 12 mins and then broiled for about 4 mins and they were done and browned perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Doll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
Never attempted scallops before, but this recipe is definitely a keeper! I followed other suggestions and doubled the wine and lemon juice, and added fresh garlic instead of the powder. Perfect! What I would also suggest is NOT adding more cracker crumbs to each scallop - I scooped up extra crumbs and put them in the pan - turned out soggy (my fault!). I used Snackwell's cracked pepper crackers, and added 1/8 tsp salt - and used only 2 Tbl butter. The flavor was wonderful! Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
This is our new favorite sea scallop recipe so far. They turn out golden and so delicious. This recipe really allows the sweetness of the scallop to shine through and it just enhances the flavor. Absolutely amazing...will make sure that I make this on a regular basis. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
I loved this recipe. I was looking for something similar to the taste of Carrabba's scallops and this is the closest I have found. It came out EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2002
my mother loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States