Dinah's Baked Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2005
This was really good. I used bay scallops. I read a lot of the reviews for this recipe. Last time I made a baked scallop recipe from this site that had Italian bread crumbs and a butter, garlic, lemon sauce. Hubby complained about the mushiness factor then so I wasn’t going to do it again. I was also ready to try a different flavor from the bread crumbs but it still had to be “breaded” for hubby’s taste. I also didn’t use so much butter and wine. But the hint of wine gave it a really gourmet flavor I loved. The crackers and the DRIZZLE instruction did the trick. I crushed my crackers very fine in a plastic bag with a rolling pin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Good recipe, gave a nice taste to scollops. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
this recipe is quite tasty & i enjoyed the easy preparation! my dry sea scallops were good sized (12 to the pound) so i gave them an extra 5 minutes then briefly broiled the tops. note: the butter, wine & lemon juice mixture curdles quickly. wait until your scallops are breaded before combining these ingredients. also halving this mixture still gave me enough to cook with. thanks dinah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2005
Great flavor, but did not like the mechanics of the recipe. Made according to recipe, you end up with a lot of mush. I would have rather have just baked in lemon and garlic butter. The buttery crackers are totally mushy. I guess drizzle is the key word here. Just drizzle a LITTLE of the liquid-mix and bake. That would have made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
Wonderful recipe! I didn't have wine so i left it out and I didn't miss it. I also cut the butter down to 1/4 cup and they came out nice and buttery and crispy. They also reheated nicely the next day in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2005
this recipe was very good...such a nice alternative to frying!! thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Woburn, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
This worked well for me. I used it on the biggest scallops I have seen 5 to a pound. I did vary the recipe by using bread crumbs and instead of wine I used chicken broth. I hit it under the broiler as suggested and used very little of the butter mixture. Drizzle!! My husband is a seafood fanatic and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
Good flavor but way too much cooking liquid - the coating was extremely mushy. I will try this one again, but with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
Great recipe. Agree that it needs a little more butter and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Anniston, Alabama, USA
Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
Very fresh and yummy. Lighter than the typical butter cracker topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsfield, Maine, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States