Dilly Rye Boat Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
For all those who said this is way to salty, you need to rinse the beef in cold water, before you chip it! This will eliminate the "too salty" taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRS. FISHER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gillett, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I can see right away the reason this recipe is rated too salty---celery salt. Beau Monde seasoning CONTAINS celery salt so by adding more separately you're overdoing it. Beau Monde can be found at Giant Eagle in Pennsylvania....I make a WONDERFUL dill dip with sour cream, mayo, dill weed, Beau Monde, CORNED BEEF, parsley flakes, and onion which is divine served with pumpernickel bread cubes. Try that out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
Don't make the same mistake that I did. I made it for a party at work before trying it and boy did I regret it. Too salty & way too dilly. Cut the celery salt to one tsp and the dill weed to one tbs for a much better tasting dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2004
This is close to the same recipe our family has been making for years! I use parsly flakes instead of the celery salt and usually 2 TBSP of dill weed. It's easy and delicious. I'll be making it for a teachers luncheon. The best part is when most of the dip is gone and you get to eat the bread that has soaked up the dip, yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
I added some chopped onion instead of the celery salt. It was less salty and added more flavor. This recipe is always a request when invited to gatherings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
1st time I made it: Omitted the celery salt. Cut the Beau Monde and dill weed in half because I was afraid it would sit over night and then taste too over powering. I was right, half the dill week was perfect. I also added chopped onion. 2nd time I made it 12/31/10: I used the 3 tbl spoons of dill weed this time, and 1 tbl spoon of Beau Monde, NO celery salt, soaked the chipped beef in water and drained off the salt like someone had recommended. Added the onion again. It turned out great and my family wants me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mulvane, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I agree with the reviewer who said to eliminate the celery salt - the Beaumonde seasoning will take care of that. I also add 1.5-2 tablespoons minced onion, and 1.5-2 tablespoons parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAMET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albion, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This is very good, and I make it several times a year. There are a lot of different variations to this recipe that are equally as good, so don't be afraid to experiment and adjust to your taste. This variation was good, but I usually will omit the Beau Monde and reduce the celery salt to 1 tsp, and Dill to 2 tbsp. I like a little tang, so usually add 2-3 oz of soft cream cheese. NOTE ON DRIED BEEF: If your unfamiliar with this ingredient, or any ingredient for that matter, taste it! Understand the flavor and texture before adding it in. Anyone who's tasted dried beef straight out of the package or jar knows immediately it's cured in salt and should be rinsed...and they probably won't do it a second time. Rinse the dried beef off, slice by slice, then taste it again. If it's still too salty, rince and repeat. I tried another reviewer's suggestion and added about 1 tbsp of very finely diced onion, another keeper! I bet stirring in a little roasted garlic paste would be good too....next time I roast garlic I'm gonna try it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Great recipe! No need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I have to have this when I have a party. NEVER any loft over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States