Dilly Rye Boat Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
One of my favorite recipes. However celery seed works better than celery salt for flavor. Otherwise it's perfection.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
This was very strong. I think you could get away with using half the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I have made this for years, but I use black pastrami since it is leaner. Not the healthiest dish, but if you want something that tastes good, this is it. It is better than any spinach dip I have ever had. The beau monde seasoning together with the pastrami is heaven. I also use a rye bread bowl and use fresh pumpernickel bread and the rye from the bowl together. I guess it would be good with veggies, but I love it with the bread. I could eat the whole bowl and I am a tiny person. Messy, but outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I used freshly cooked corned beef and made my own Beau Monde seasoning. I omitted the celery salt because I thought the beau monde had enough. This tasted delicious. I placed a tbsp of dip on each cut out cookie cutter piece of bread I used. Lovely for finger food apptzs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This is very good, and I make it several times a year. There are a lot of different variations to this recipe that are equally as good, so don't be afraid to experiment and adjust to your taste. This variation was good, but I usually will omit the Beau Monde and reduce the celery salt to 1 tsp, and Dill to 2 tbsp. I like a little tang, so usually add 2-3 oz of soft cream cheese. NOTE ON DRIED BEEF: If your unfamiliar with this ingredient, or any ingredient for that matter, taste it! Understand the flavor and texture before adding it in. Anyone who's tasted dried beef straight out of the package or jar knows immediately it's cured in salt and should be rinsed...and they probably won't do it a second time. Rinse the dried beef off, slice by slice, then taste it again. If it's still too salty, rince and repeat. I tried another reviewer's suggestion and added about 1 tbsp of very finely diced onion, another keeper! I bet stirring in a little roasted garlic paste would be good too....next time I roast garlic I'm gonna try it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Great recipe! No need to change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
1st time I made it: Omitted the celery salt. Cut the Beau Monde and dill weed in half because I was afraid it would sit over night and then taste too over powering. I was right, half the dill week was perfect. I also added chopped onion. 2nd time I made it 12/31/10: I used the 3 tbl spoons of dill weed this time, and 1 tbl spoon of Beau Monde, NO celery salt, soaked the chipped beef in water and drained off the salt like someone had recommended. Added the onion again. It turned out great and my family wants me to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mulvane, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I have to have this when I have a party. NEVER any loft over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I have been making a similar recipe since the mid 80's. Be sure to rinse the chipped beef and delete the celery salt unless you like really salty food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by db

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Served this at a Super Bowl party and then at St. Patrick's day. Gobbled up both times! I added some dried onion flakes and it added a nice onion flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNYGRRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbeque-Bacon Party Spread

See how to make a creamy, cheesy dip with some kick.

Fruit Dip

Dunk fresh fruit into a sweet and creamy pineapple-flavored dip.

Fiesta Dip

See how to make a spicy no-bake dip with a delicious secret ingredient.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States