Dilly Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Before I could even taste these beans, my DH gave me a compliment about how good they were. Other than using fresh beans steamed to our liking, I followed the recipe exactly. The balance of flavours is perfect. Thinking of ways to slightly tweak it, I asked my DH if I should decrease the amount of sugar. His answer? "If it ain't broke, don't fix it." Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I never would have guessed when I made these tonight, that they would be such a hit at the dinner table for both Hubs and me. I’ve added dill to vegetables before, both dried as well as fresh, but neither adds the flavor punch like dill pickle juice does! I used just butter, no canola oil, and fresh beans. Nor did I add the sugar, although those who like a sweet-sour taste might want to. We just loved this and after all, it’s only green beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Good! Just a bit too much oil; Next time I will go heavier on the dill; I did not put as much juice as the recipe called for; I will definitely try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
These beans were fabulous. They are my husband's new favorite recipe for beans. Thank you Bill!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This was really deliciuos. I used fresh green beans and steamed them a little before adding to the onions...I also cut back just a little on the oil. The flavor was perfect. Definitely something I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
this was very good. i used a can of rinsed french style green beans instead of frozen cut beans and i overmeasured the sugar (it was approx. 1/2 tsp due to not leveling off the spoon). the dill and sugar balance out the flavor so one is not overpowering over the other. Thanks again for posting a delicous and simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
great side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Thanks from South Dakota to Bill in Minnesota for this recipe. Took this recipe to Thanksgiving and my Mother-in-law said it was a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States