Dilly Cheese Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
I made this bread yesterday and it turned out very well. I followed the recipe to the letter with the exception of baking the bread in my oven. I went ahead and let it bake in the bread machine and it turned out great. I'm unsure what the last reviewer meant because the amount of yeast is listed clearly in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
GREAT bread. I followed the recipe exactly, using a combination of Assiago and Parm cheese along w/ the cheddar. I took the dough out after the second rise as maggie suggested and baked in the oven. My loaf only took 30 minutes instead of 35-40 - so glad I checked it! The crust is chewy/crunchy brown and the inside is dense and perfect. The dill and cheese flavors are very subtle - just a great, hearty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2004
When Maggie McGuire said "this recipe turns out a perfectly textured flavorful bread every time" she wasn't lying. This bread was great surved warm and tasted good the day after too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2004
This bread came out just right after using my bread machine on the dough cycle and then making into two small loaves and baking in the oven. The flavor wasn't what I was hoping for though. I remember always getting a wonderful loaf of dilly bread when I was younger and this wasn't even close. The flavor is pretty faint even with all of the cheese and such. I bake a lot of breads and this one's flavor just wasn't up to par. This is a nice loaf to eat with soup but I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
I made this entirely in my bread machine and was very disappointed. It didn't rise very high at all, the crust was too crunchy and the bread was too chewy. It hurt our jaws to eat it. On the positive side, it was much better the next day after being toasted. It seems that most of the previous reviewers finished their's off in the oven which is what I will try next time. Also, I substituted dill seed for the dill weed which I loved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I'm not a bread maching girl, so I made this the good ole fashioned way. It was alright, but nothing special. The flavor was OK, and the texture was good, but it just didn't have the Wow factor. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
The bread was just okay for us. I did not think there was a lot of flavor considering all that was in it. Not sure if I would make again. It did look really nice. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
This is one of my favorite breads from this site! Very tasty! It makes excellent croutons, also. Have made many, many times. Posted pic---didn't use bread machine, made by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Pretty good. Although I could hardly taste the dill, it was pleasantly cheesy. A little bit on the dense side, but good nonetheless. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I made this bread with my Kitchen Aid. I proofed the yeast in the mixer bowl with the warm water, milk and sugar for ten minutes, then added in all the dry. (I did cut back on the dill. A whole tbsp. seemed a bit excessive to me.) When it came together, I kneaded it with my dough hook for five minutes. This rose nicely, baked up beautifully. Flavor-wise, I just didn't care for it and neither did my family. The texture was really crumbly. I'd like to try this again and see if maybe I missed a step or just fubared it up. Reading the other reviews NOW, I see that I'm not alone. I'm really bummed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States