Dilly Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This recipe is so good. I haven't changed a thing, and this bakes beautifully at 8200 ft elevation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: South Fork, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I don't know, I couldn't get this bread to rise enough. I followed all the directions for the yeast and in the recipe, but it seemed like it should have risen more. It was just dense and didn't taste like much. Not sure what the dilly was. (see what I did there)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This is the same recipe that my family has used since I was little. The only difference is we don't heat up the butter and cottage cheese. We just mix them right into the dough, this might help with the ones who said it was dry. I have personally made this bread over 100 times and it is never dry and as long as I keep it in a bag it is not dry the next day either. Also I always use bread flour it does make a difference and real butter over margarine will help with dryness (I have used all purpose flour and margarine and they don't give the same results). I have also made these into rolls by placing them in a muffin tin to rise and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I have used the "Dilly Bread" recipe for years, however, when I first found it, it said to use the cream cottage that was soured,or not fresh. So when I have cc that is for most people ready to be thrown out, I make dilly bread w/it. Waste want, want not!!! It gives the bread a sour-dough mild flavor, love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This bread is delicious !!!!!! I've been eating this for many years and is soo good with leftover holiday turkey or ham for sandwiches. Also very good toasted. I use my bread machine on the dough setting and it comes out perfectly fine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Pretty good, but was a bit dry. Very good warm and fresh out of the oven, but the next day it had really dried out and wasn't great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Needs a little extra dill seed and salt on top. My Hubby loves this and ate himself almost sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berea, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Very good bread. Similar to a recipe I've had since the 70's Made exactly as written only baked in a loaf pan rather than the round casserole dish. I did use a rapid rise yeast and the crumb was very tender and very light. I don't know if it's the yeast that made the difference or not, but the bread I've had in the past was a bit denser. I do think I prefer a heavier bread, but this was very good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This is like a recipe I used to make by hand but now I use this recipe in my bread machine. I prefer to chop up about 1/2 cup of onions instead of using minced. Instead of slicing the bread, I cut it into squares or chunks. My whole family loves it. This is a great recipe as it is or you can also let the bread machine mix it and then put it into a casserole dish and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatSu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I've made this bread since I was a teenager (a long time ago!) and had lost my recipe. This is exactly the same one, thanks. I'm curious as to why you say it rises in the pan since your instructions are to let it rise in a greased bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pita Bread

See how to make delicious homemade pita bread.

Italian Bread Bowls

See how to make homemade bread bowls for soup.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States