Dilly Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Way too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I made a spicy variety of beans last year (not this recipe) and tried this one .. this year. I find the pickling SPICE .. really stands out in this recipe ... which I followed exact. wasn't enough HEAT or DILLY for our liking .. but did turn out fine and were quick and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenchaosinBC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Other than the alum, this recipe is identical to the one I've been making for years. People FIGHT to get to the jar. I think they're delicious. You can make them hotter by using a hotter pepper -- red chile peppers look pretty but they're rather mild for spiciness. I use "Ho Chi Minh" peppers from the farmers market (dried) -- lemon yellow and slightly larger than a Serrano. Plenty hot! You could even go with a Habanero if you want them really HOT. OH, and I prefer cider vinegar to white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Bashert
Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
If you live above 1,000 ft., you must increase the boiling water time accordingly. Best source for good information about this is the Ball Blue Book guide to preserving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Three weeks ago I made my first batch of "Dilly Beans" and have been waiting anxiously for the day I could "pop" the seal. The day has arrived and OMG they are delicious! Another review stated that they ran out of brine and so did I...so just a FYI, I would probably make a double batch of the brine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I've made these for three years and I wouldn't change a thing! There are wonderful with a cold beer! All my friends just love them. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Terrible recipe. Wasted money, time & energy (48 jars worth) on this recipe, and the beans were inedible! They were so salty that I even tried to rinse with cold water before eating and I still couldn't eat them. I gave many jars away as gifts before I had a chance to taste the beans & I had ppl returning the jars of beans to me since they were so awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Very Salty, also I thought the mustard seed was very overpowering. Maybe I should use more dill...They tasted like salty mustard!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Jay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
This was my first time trying to pickle anything, and this recipe is fabulous! My kids ate this in one day! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
A new family favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Wentzlaff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Clara City, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Dilly Beans

These string beans will add zing to your salads all year long.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States