Dill and Butter Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
While I wouldn't call this "a different angle on an old veggie" as the submitter describes, it doesn't take away from the fact that this is just plain simple and good. No need to measure, just saute the squash in butter as needed, add salt, pepper and dill to your taste. I cooked this, however, at medium-high heat, not the medium-low as the recipe directs. Saute as long as necessary to achieve a crisp-tender doneness, not till it's soggy and mushy, which can easily happen with summer squash. Great fresh flavors with just a few simple ingredients - what's not to like?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
Great taste. I made the following changes: 2 garlic cloves (minced) sauted w/ the zucchini & squash, 1.5 tsp dill, cut back on butter & used some olive oil instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2002
This is a versatile recipe. You can change it anyway you like. I used fresh lemon for the lemon juice and did it give it a kick. Also, I used fresh dill weed. During the summer months I will vary it some more. Experiment - it's fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
One of my favorite ways to have summer squash. I've been making it for years. I cook this in layers....first carrots cut on the diagonal, then yellow squash, zucchini, maybe some green peppers, and then mushrooms, shaking dill between each layer. Drizzle some olive oil on top, lots of garlic and about a tablespoon of butter. Cover tightly and just let it cook very slowly, around 20 mins or so, depending on the amount you're cooking and how tender you like your vegies. No need to stir. We also like to put it on top of our fresh pasta. So good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
This was so good. My 8 yr old and husband both liked it. I think with the amount of butter and dill, you might need to add a few more squash to the recipe. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
A wonderful way to let the vegetable taste shine through without all that cheesy goop you usually find on squash! I made this with 3 16-ounce bags of frozen yellow squash. I got many compliments. Everyone thought it was fresh squash. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
This was easy and the taste was ok--but not particularly something to boast about. Too much butter. Think the next time I prepare I will half the butter and garnish with some freshly grated parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
This was an EXCELLENT recipe- great for the summer as its quick and light and a great way to use up summer squash. I opted for the fresh dill and I would reccomend it this way. Also, I added some asparagus to it. It helped make this "side dish" into a Main course I served over Garlic Cous cous. Very good, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Such a great dish. I poured it all over some whole wheat thin spaghetti-- absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
EXCELLENT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bradford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States