Dill Wrapped Cream Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
We just were not fond of the dill weed taste. I think next time I make this I'll just skip the dill weed. It will just be plain old cream cheese in a crescent roll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2003
I made this for a party and got lots of compliments on it. There is something missing, next time I will try using fresh dill instead of dried to give the flavor more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
This recipe is great...I add a lot more dill, as much as 2 or 3 tablespoons. For those who complain about it....you need to be spreading the mixture on crackers, you don't need to heap it on either, a little goes a long way! Excellent taste and this is a great recipe that I found on the inside of a Harris Teeter cream cheese package. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2003
This is okay, a little too much cream cheese for me. I would recommend about 1/2 as much cheese and add in some chopped ham. It was easy and tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
These are good...but not great. I try to use fresh dill (it tastes much better). I did get a bit inventive and added flaked salmon to the mix. I individually rolled each roll and put the salmon on top. I wish to find something to kick the taste up a bit. Still I will make these again and expirament.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
I wrapped the crescent individually. This is a easy and quick appetizer but not exciting at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This recipe was OK. It was kinda bland and was to "smoochy". It defineately needs something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This recipe has certainly left something out. A giant chunk of cream cheese in the middle of a huge portion of dough does not a recipe make. We were disappointed at first, then eventually made it into a joke -- was there ANYONE at this New Year's Party who would eat a slice? If you have any doubts, imagine a 1 x 2 x 4 inch chunk of cream cheese. Now imagine yourself trying to eat it. The dough around it made little to no difference. I can't imagine how this recipe could be improved; I will look for another with very different directions. DO NOT make this appetizer or you will find yourself nauseous at the thought of cream cheese for weeks to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This is a great recipe. I made individual rolls instead of one big one. I have used both fresh dill, and out of the bottle, depending on what I have on hand. I let the cream cheese warm up a bit, and mix the dill in with the cream cheese. I spoon a teaspoon of filling onto the roll, roll it up and pinch the sides together . I hate to admit this, but the first night I made these I made 2 pkgs of rolls, which made 16 rolls, my husband and I ate almost the whole sheet of them. I have made them a lot since then, we just watch the amount we eat now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
I have made this before and it always goes over well. I agree that maybe using a 4 oz. package of crescent rolls makes less dough, but then I like dough so it's probably a personal preference. I also find that brushing the dough-wrapped cheese with a beaten egg yolk before baking helps make it a little more crisy/firm when cutting. Someone also once suggested to me serving it with apple slices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Salami, Cream Cheese, and Pepperoncini Roll-Ups

See how to make a super-easy, meat-and-cheesy party appetizer.

Cream Cheese Penguins

These adorable cream cheese penguins go beyond cute.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States