Dill Sour Cream Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I love dill and I love sour cream but I'm being generous giving this 3 stars. Since the submitter didn't specify what type of potatoes, I used red skinned and left the skin on, the type of vinegar also wasn't specified so I used white wine vinegar and cut that down to only 1/2 tsp. I upped the dill to one Tbsp. and left out the veg. oil and dill pickles as I thought those two ingredients in particular would ruin this completely. I won't be making this again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
A surprising disappointment. This was a beautiful salad that appeared to have everything going for it. I used fresh dill and lots of it. Knowing I don't like an overpowering vinegar tang, I cut back on the vinegar to two tablespoons. I mixed in the sour cream and, because it was so pretty at that point, speckled with its flecks of fresh dill, green onion and celery, reluctantly added the chopped dill pickle - and I almost immediately knew I would regret it. Unfortunately, this was still too vinegary, all but obliterating the fresh taste of the dill, celery and green onion and the mellow creaminess of the sour cream. This would have been so much better with very little or even NO vinegar, especially if you're going to add the dill pickle, which I really would have preferred left out altogether. And come to think of it, I'm not sure what the need for the oil was. That could have easily been left out as well. I have a feeling there will be lots of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
i simplified the recipe by leaving out the tomato, pickles and sourcream...used white onion instead of green.... and it was EXCELLENT!!!! thanks so much for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTIMAC2000

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicci
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This was a little too tangy for my taste. I would go easy on the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
This potato was very fresh tasting. We used fresh dill from our garden. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
My husband especially liked this because he isn't a fan of mayonnaise-based potato salads. It tasted a lot like baked potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Love it. Not a potato salad fan, especially mustard style, but, I love this. I have made it twice, and the 2nd time I ommitted tomatoes and added the pickles immediately, then let it chill. Brought it to a tailgate and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
I made this for a cookout & everyone loved it. I used steamed red potatoes and a handful of fresh dill. I didn't measure the sour cream, but I'm sure it was more. Instead of regular vinegar I used two tablespoons of white wine vinegar. I topped with three tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
Great potato salad. Tastes great with and without the sour cream as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Excellent! Even my supposed potato salad hating fiance had seconds of this. I omitted the green onions and sprinkled in a little garlic powder. We loved it, thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States