Dill Sour Cream Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2012
Two very important tips will improve your potato salad for life! First, boil the diced potatoes in water with 1 teaspoon of vinegar added. This will make the potatoes hold their shape well. Second, while the potatoes are cooking, mix up the oil, vinegar, s&p, and lots of dill. Drain the potatoes and immediately toss the hot potatoes with the dressing. Let stand at room temp until cool. This makes the potatoes soak up all that good flavor. Then add the rest of the ingredients, adding sour cream and pickles before serving. Follow this tip for all your potato salad recipes (toss with vinegar) and you'll never have bland potato salad again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I think this recipe needs shredded cheddar cheese, onion powder, garlic, and bacon bits! Needs more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I made this tonight for the second time. Both times my crowd loved it. Although I love vinegar its a little overpowering. This was better with Salata, a German seasoned mild vinegar, rather than with white vinegar. I also added more dill to it. Potato salad is a hard dish for me to make being allergic to mayo and miracle whip. This was a hit with my family and we will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
If you make this as it is written it is horrible. All the changes folks have made probably DO make it better but it is sour at best and just tastes rotten, literally! Sorry!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Louisville, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I love dill and I love sour cream but I'm being generous giving this 3 stars. Since the submitter didn't specify what type of potatoes, I used red skinned and left the skin on, the type of vinegar also wasn't specified so I used white wine vinegar and cut that down to only 1/2 tsp. I upped the dill to one Tbsp. and left out the veg. oil and dill pickles as I thought those two ingredients in particular would ruin this completely. I won't be making this again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
A surprising disappointment. This was a beautiful salad that appeared to have everything going for it. I used fresh dill and lots of it. Knowing I don't like an overpowering vinegar tang, I cut back on the vinegar to two tablespoons. I mixed in the sour cream and, because it was so pretty at that point, speckled with its flecks of fresh dill, green onion and celery, reluctantly added the chopped dill pickle - and I almost immediately knew I would regret it. Unfortunately, this was still too vinegary, all but obliterating the fresh taste of the dill, celery and green onion and the mellow creaminess of the sour cream. This would have been so much better with very little or even NO vinegar, especially if you're going to add the dill pickle, which I really would have preferred left out altogether. And come to think of it, I'm not sure what the need for the oil was. That could have easily been left out as well. I have a feeling there will be lots of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Okay, I was not a huge fan of the salad, but my friend loved it so it got 4 stars. I used more than 4 cups of potatoes (probably close to double that) and just eyeballed the sour cream. I made this up the night before and added on an extra tbs of balsamic vinegar as well as garlic powder and doubled the amount of dill. It really needed it! I also added in the pickles the night before as well and let them sit with everything else. I have a friend who cannot eat mayo, so she was very excited about this recipe and said it tasted just like real potato salad. The guys dug it and I was just not feeling it. It's not bad, but I think the Tangy Potato Salad recipe from this site is way better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This recipe is awsome! My family just loved it and I didn't even add the oil or vinegar. Hard to believe some thought it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Excellent! Even my supposed potato salad hating fiance had seconds of this. I omitted the green onions and sprinkled in a little garlic powder. We loved it, thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Very nice and refreshing. I didn't add the oil, pickle or tomato. Might try adding pickle and tomato next time, but didn't miss the oil. Nice crunch to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States