Dill Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This is the perfect basic dill sauce. You can take this and go anywhere with it or just KISS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Cullen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I think I'd only make this again if I need some sauce for fish and the recipe's ingredients are all that I have in the house. I used reduced-fat sour cream, don't know if that had something to do with it but, as many have commented here, it's difficult to balance out the flavors. Maybe practice might make perfect but I can't be bothered--it was just too blah. Following the recipe I had to add less than a teaspoon of sugar to reduce the tartness. I used the recommended amount of dill but this didn't add enough flavor yet if I had used as much dill as I might have needed for a strong dill flavor it would have proably made the sauce green! Bottom line: edible, but definitely not memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
I read the reviews and let the flavors marry for 12 hours, tasted and I thought the recipe was too tart for my taste buds. I did as one suggested & added 1 tsp sugar and that did the trick. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
delicious even with substituting dry dill--1/2 as much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
This was a wonderful sauce. I used this with the salmon loaf I prepared from this site. My teenage son really liked both recipes as well. I didn't add as much mustard and increased the lemon juice. MMM Good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
Great with veggie lentil patties too which could be served on a bun with the sauce. Thank You!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
This is an excellent sauce for the salmon cakes from this site. We also like it on hamburgers. Thanks, Lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I did not care for this sauce. I should have read the previous reviews before trying this recipe. As many other reviewers noted, the flavors are not quite balanced. I thought the combination of sour cream and lemon made it too tart. I had to add some sugar and mayonnaise to tone down the tartness. I probably would not add so much mustard if I had to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibi chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Tasted too much like mustard. I had to add the entire container of sour cream to tone down the mustard taste. Once I got the ingredients right, I thought it was really good. The whole family still didn't like it...too mustardy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
this is the worst recipe I have made from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethany, Missouri, USA
Living In: Albany, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States