Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2003
Loved this potato salad!! I did make a few adjustments. I used 3 lbs. of red skins cooked and cut into small chunks. Salted and peppered them. In another bowl....I made the dressing...1 c. no fat sour cream, 1 c. mayo, 3 scallions chopped, small handful fresh parsley-chopped,fresh chopped dill and the dijon mustard. Mixed and tossed with the potatoes. Chilled and served the next night with BBQ brisket. Family inhaled this! This was the first time I made potato salad without the traditional carrots, celery, etc. Will make again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Excellent potato salad! I made this for a BBQ and everyone loved it. I used 3 lbs. of red skinned potatoes and because I wanted a little crunch I added 1/2 cup of finely chopped celery and 4 choppped green onions. For the dressing I used 1 & 1/4 cups each of lite sour cream and lite mayo, 1 Tbsp. of dill weed, kept the rest of the ingredients the same and added a couple dashes of white wine vinegar. I let it set overnight and the flavors blended together very nicely. It was a great change from your regular potato/egg salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
Absolutely easy and wonderful recipe. I did not peel potatoes and it made the salad have a nice pop of color. Rave reviews from all who tried it and I am going to make it one of my regular dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
My fiance and I really enjoyed this recipe, with a few alterations. I used ~10 small-med red potatoes, boiled w/skin and cubed while warm. Using tips from other reviewers, I made the dressing using ~1/2 cup reduced fat mayo, a little more than 1/2 cup light sour cream, ~2-3 tbs red wine vinegar, 1.5 tsp dried dill, 1 tsp dried parsley, ~1/2 tsp sugar, 1 stick celery-minced, several dashes of cayenne, several dashes of garlic powder, salt & pepper to taste. It was a little dill heavy, but in a good way, as my fiance is very fond of dill. Also, the amounts I used are more like guidelines. I added a little more of this or that until I thought it tasted "right." And to make sure I had the right amount of dressing to potatoes, I added the dressing to ~3/4 of the potatoes I prepared and added more until the ratio looked about right. Mashed the rest, as to not waste. I would have added bacon bits, but we have a vegetarian in the house, so we added some to our individual servings. I will certainly be making this potato salad again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I just made this, and am rating it while still warm. I gave it 4 stars for the recipe as written, but I would give it 5 with these changes. This was really good with 2 TBS of FRESH parsley. (I kept adding more). I think this made it, for I had to use dry dill (fresh would have been better). I substituted a couple TBS. of mayo. This does need an acidic ingredient, which I added in the form of citric acid in the homemade dill dip mix I added. Lemon juice could substitute, with some instant minced onion and dry garlic. HINT: Make the dressing taste like a good salty dill dip that you like, THEN mix in! You shouldn't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 26, 2002
This is an excellent recipe! My husband and I do not usually eat potato salad but we will now. I used 1/2 reduced fat sour cream and added crumbled bacon and it turned out great. I can't wait to get rave reviews at our family get togethers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marilla, New York, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This was diffrent, but not too bad. It got better the longer it sat in the fridge. Good for a change, but I think I'll stick to another recipie. It would go with fish really good because of all the dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
I really liked this recipe. A lite, refreshing summer treat. I used red potatoes, added a 1/2 pack of Hidden Valley Ranch and three extra tbsp. of sour cream. It was very yummy. I will definatly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJELLA5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
This recipe was excellent! My husband has requested that I make this potato salad from now on... Thanks for the great recipe Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
Delicious flavor. Creamy and just the right amount of dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ST.JON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States