Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I thought this recipe was ok. There was no real zip to it...kinda bland like it needed more salt or onions added to the mix rather than just on top. Will try again, but with a few additions. I liked the fact that there was no mayo, just sour cream, which I used the light version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
this is a good starter recipe but I added some ingredients to inhanse the flavor or else it would have been very bland. i read the reviews for this recipe and made these changes: i used 9 cups of new potatoes. added 1/2 cup light mayo. about a 1/4 cup red wine vinegar. 1/2 of a medium sized red onion minced. 3 or 4 green onions chopped. some garlic salt a dash or two. 5 hard boiled eggs chopped. and some fresh parsley chopped about a lg palm full. i let it chill overnight and the next evening it was absolutely wonderful. if you like dill this is great although i did use a lil less dill than it called for. i would most definitely make this again and many times after that i'm sure. my new fav version i think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
i like this because i hate mayo. but my family didnt like it. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I love sour cream and dill, so I loved this potato salad, but did find it a little lacking in flavor. I added some Hidden Valley Ranch dip mix to it and that really helped.Any extra seasonings add flavor to it. I have also tried itialian seasonings and Mrs. Dash. It's a keeper- just experiment a little. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Indiana, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
This was just ok, no real flavor...kinda bland. Will stick with my potato salad. But thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JillDana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
My fiance and I really enjoyed this recipe, with a few alterations. I used ~10 small-med red potatoes, boiled w/skin and cubed while warm. Using tips from other reviewers, I made the dressing using ~1/2 cup reduced fat mayo, a little more than 1/2 cup light sour cream, ~2-3 tbs red wine vinegar, 1.5 tsp dried dill, 1 tsp dried parsley, ~1/2 tsp sugar, 1 stick celery-minced, several dashes of cayenne, several dashes of garlic powder, salt & pepper to taste. It was a little dill heavy, but in a good way, as my fiance is very fond of dill. Also, the amounts I used are more like guidelines. I added a little more of this or that until I thought it tasted "right." And to make sure I had the right amount of dressing to potatoes, I added the dressing to ~3/4 of the potatoes I prepared and added more until the ratio looked about right. Mashed the rest, as to not waste. I would have added bacon bits, but we have a vegetarian in the house, so we added some to our individual servings. I will certainly be making this potato salad again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
This recipe was not for us. I served it over Mother's Day weekend, and no one really loved it. My Step-Father added mayonaise to "choke it down". Heh. Majorly lacked flavor! The dill was a nice though, maybe I will try omitting the sour cream, and subing in Mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Croghan, New York, USA
Living In: Saco, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2006
it was a little bland, I added 2tbs of mayo and some salt to jazz it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reardan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
This was so good! My husband and I are not big potato salad fans, but we both really enjoyed this! I used whole milk yogurt instead of sour cream and added a few tablespoons of real bacon bits. Wow, I don't know how people thought this was bland. Next time I will try a lower carb version with cauliflower instead of potato. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
I used exotic-looking but normal-tasting blue potatoes for this. I thought it was good, but FAR too mustardy. I fixed that by adding a little sugar (maybe 1/2 teaspoon) to it. I didn't have fresh dill, so I used 1 teaspoon of dried instead. This could easily be dressed up by adding eggs, celery, etc. that you find in more other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States