Dill Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2003
Loved this potato salad!! I did make a few adjustments. I used 3 lbs. of red skins cooked and cut into small chunks. Salted and peppered them. In another bowl....I made the dressing...1 c. no fat sour cream, 1 c. mayo, 3 scallions chopped, small handful fresh parsley-chopped,fresh chopped dill and the dijon mustard. Mixed and tossed with the potatoes. Chilled and served the next night with BBQ brisket. Family inhaled this! This was the first time I made potato salad without the traditional carrots, celery, etc. Will make again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Excellent potato salad! I made this for a BBQ and everyone loved it. I used 3 lbs. of red skinned potatoes and because I wanted a little crunch I added 1/2 cup of finely chopped celery and 4 choppped green onions. For the dressing I used 1 & 1/4 cups each of lite sour cream and lite mayo, 1 Tbsp. of dill weed, kept the rest of the ingredients the same and added a couple dashes of white wine vinegar. I let it set overnight and the flavors blended together very nicely. It was a great change from your regular potato/egg salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
Absolutely easy and wonderful recipe. I did not peel potatoes and it made the salad have a nice pop of color. Rave reviews from all who tried it and I am going to make it one of my regular dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
My fiance and I really enjoyed this recipe, with a few alterations. I used ~10 small-med red potatoes, boiled w/skin and cubed while warm. Using tips from other reviewers, I made the dressing using ~1/2 cup reduced fat mayo, a little more than 1/2 cup light sour cream, ~2-3 tbs red wine vinegar, 1.5 tsp dried dill, 1 tsp dried parsley, ~1/2 tsp sugar, 1 stick celery-minced, several dashes of cayenne, several dashes of garlic powder, salt & pepper to taste. It was a little dill heavy, but in a good way, as my fiance is very fond of dill. Also, the amounts I used are more like guidelines. I added a little more of this or that until I thought it tasted "right." And to make sure I had the right amount of dressing to potatoes, I added the dressing to ~3/4 of the potatoes I prepared and added more until the ratio looked about right. Mashed the rest, as to not waste. I would have added bacon bits, but we have a vegetarian in the house, so we added some to our individual servings. I will certainly be making this potato salad again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I just made this, and am rating it while still warm. I gave it 4 stars for the recipe as written, but I would give it 5 with these changes. This was really good with 2 TBS of FRESH parsley. (I kept adding more). I think this made it, for I had to use dry dill (fresh would have been better). I substituted a couple TBS. of mayo. This does need an acidic ingredient, which I added in the form of citric acid in the homemade dill dip mix I added. Lemon juice could substitute, with some instant minced onion and dry garlic. HINT: Make the dressing taste like a good salty dill dip that you like, THEN mix in! You shouldn't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 26, 2002
This is an excellent recipe! My husband and I do not usually eat potato salad but we will now. I used 1/2 reduced fat sour cream and added crumbled bacon and it turned out great. I can't wait to get rave reviews at our family get togethers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marilla, New York, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
This was diffrent, but not too bad. It got better the longer it sat in the fridge. Good for a change, but I think I'll stick to another recipie. It would go with fish really good because of all the dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thomaston, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
I really liked this recipe. A lite, refreshing summer treat. I used red potatoes, added a 1/2 pack of Hidden Valley Ranch and three extra tbsp. of sour cream. It was very yummy. I will definatly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJELLA5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
This recipe was excellent! My husband has requested that I make this potato salad from now on... Thanks for the great recipe Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
Delicious flavor. Creamy and just the right amount of dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by St.Jon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States