Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Thank you, Sharon, for an easy and delicious recipe! I had never made pickles before, but had to do something with a bumper crop of cucumbers. These pickles turned out crisp and so tasty! Everyone who has tasted them wants a jar and "my" recipe ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLMNGOCAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
These came out perfect. And they're so easy to make. Crunchy and a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
We were finally able to eat these and I am more than pleased. Excellent flavor, crisp, hands down favorite pickle recipe! Thanks !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
Simple and delicious, my first time out making pickles and my family is impressed. No one could wait two months to try them, they are just right and very crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jannaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bec
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Great recipe! I don't do the boiling bath method though, I steam them. I cover the pickles with boiling brine, put the lid and rings on, and then but them in a tall pan with a little water in the bottom and a lid on the pot. Once the water comes to a good boil, I time the pickles for about 3 minutes and then take them out. The pickles are nice and crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
We just cracked open our first jar...after 8 long weeks, lol. They are pretty good. I find them a bit salty, so we will cut back on that next time. They are not Claussen pickle crunchy, but they are crisp. I'd definitely make these again. Btw, we did not do the hot water bath with these. It took them a long time to seal, but they eventually did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
We just ate our first can, and they were delicious (and gone fast!)Would this recipe work for cauliflower?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
These were my maiden attempt at pickles, and I cannot wait until next year to make more. Despite being processed, they are still crunchy and flavorful, and beat any store-bought pickle hands down. I did use pint jars instead of quarts, as I halved the recipe, and added the following to each jar: 2 dill heads (not sure what the difference is between sprigs and heads), 2 cloves of garlic each cut into quarters, 2 allspice berries, and a heaping 1/8 tsp of a mixture of dill seed, celery seed and mustard seed (thanks to another reviewer for the last item). I also used the smallest cukes I could find so they wouldn't be super seedy, and I cut both ends off to avoid the enzymatic effect from the blossom end. Finally, I only processed for 5 minutes. I know that is not recommended, but I was terrified they would be mushy. I didn't have any grape leaves to add, so figured if they didn't seal I could always put them in the fridge. Happily, they did seal after being inverted for a few hours, and are still looking beautiful 6 weeks later with no spoilage and great taste. Thanks so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I have tried a variety of pickle recipes and this is by far our favorite. The ice bath is critical. We add hot peppers and a rolled up grape leaf or two to each jar. Those additions are how I learned to make them in Israel. Everyone who tastes these, gives them rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Great recipe! The pickles turned out nice and crisp! They are a little salty for me, I will cut back on that next time. Other than that, very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States