Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Great Recipe! Only thing i would like to add, we ready about pickling in the Blue book guide to pickling and it suggested to cut 1/16" off the end of the pickle. They said otherwise an enzyme is released that causes the pickle to soften. We did it with ours, but are still waiting to try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Got me started. Here is the perfect base to make uncountable number of pickles variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
To icecoolputer - Safety first! That's why you need to sterilize your jars. You don't want to get dust, foreign particles, etc in you pickles (especially if your jars have been sitting on a shelf since last harvest). It is easy to sterilize the jars in your dishwasher either with a complete wash or hot rinse. ***This recipe is easy and straight forward. My pickles look great in the jar.....can't wait to taste them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
LOVE! LOVE! LOVE! The best dill pickles ever!!!! I will make these from now on and now I can't wait to replant my garden to be sure there are plenty of cucumbers for dill pickles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Findlay, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bloomdale, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
This recipe is excellent and highly recommended! I use a bunch of garlic both minced and full cloves and toss in some finely sliced red bell peppers to give the jars a nice little touch of color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
These are fantastic. Made them last yea -- making them again right now -- and they'll be my go-to dill pickle recipe from now on. I made 1/2 my batch last year with grape leaves and 1/2 without. The ones with grape leaves were noticeably crisper so this year they are all getting them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
NEED TO KNOW... a lot of recipes for canning pickles often leave out this important tip. If you don't want mushy pickles, you need to trim 1/4 off each end of the cucumbers. The end connecting to the vine has an enzyme that makes mushy pickles. Frustrates me when I see recipes leave this off, because its hard work..you want good pickles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Fantastic! I skimped on the garlic because I thought that 2 cloves per jar would be too much. Now I regret it. My pickles turned out with a good bit of garlic taste just not as much as I like. But I sure can't fault the recipe for that! I'll be making these pickles every summer now. Maybe mincing the garlic up instead of halving the cloves. Thanks much. My friends won't stop hounding me for pickles! ALSO! If you add a single sliced jalapeno with seeds per jar you wind up with the BEST spicy dill pickles I've ever had in my life! Unbelievable! I'll never change this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
i found this recipe 3 years ago,and have been using it ever since. I soak mine for about 4 hours and wow are they ever crunchy. thank you fro sharing it with us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This is a great, tangy pickle juice recipe that could use a little less garlic, but is overall very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States