Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This was my first time making dill pickles, it was so easy!! It was hard waiting, but after 6 weeks I opened my first jar. They aren't really crunchy but they taste great. I will definitely make them again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lekili_

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was my first time making pickles and the taste is fantastic. Mine weren't crisp, but I think it was my inexperience not the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I have been making pickles for many years, and this is a great recipe. The ONLY reason I am not giving 5 stars... is sanitation. Soaking cukes in bathtub, or sink? I always use a large container which has been sanitized, and don't use tap water. The later processes are not enough to kill off bacteria that is likely to find its way in during the soaking, and even the salt and vinegar may not be enough to get what the limited heating up during the bath process misses. Again, great recipe... just be careful with the processes. Sorry, my OSHA background takes over sometimes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
My pickles got moldy after 2 weeks. I am glad I waited to ensure they'd turn out OK. I consulted others and they said they vinegar-water ration needs a 2-1 ratio and Ball recommends a 1-1 ratio. It's possible that because I could only get my water to 200 degrees that had an effect but I would check this recipe for safety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
I tried these and they were good but WAY TOO SALTY. I did not over process the brine and make it have a higher concentration of salt. I ended up throwing some out because of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
these are great and the exact same recipe my mother in law uses, but with differences: we use table salt instead of pickling salt we never process them because the pickles go soft and mushy the cukes are soaked over night and then scrubbed before being put into the jars with a small jalapeno pepper and small garden pepper for colour and really a fight for the kids when they are opened:-) they always seal up because after you close the jar flip it upside down and it ensures it will seal, but only if it is at a rolling boil for at least 3 minutes! happy canning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
My daughter and I prepared a batch of pickles with this recipe and we could not not believe how good they turned out. We loved it! Now we will make additional batches to last us the winter. We would totally recommend it to you (in the words of my 8 year old daughter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Made these yesterday and after canning most of them put a bunch of whole pickles in a gallon jar and added jalapeño and banana peppers along with original ingredients. This large jar is in the fridge and had to have a taste this morning. Oh are they good! Can't imagine how much better they will be in a few weeks. Crispy and delish! Hope the ones I canned come out as good as these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Great Recipe! Only thing i would like to add, we ready about pickling in the Blue book guide to pickling and it suggested to cut 1/16" off the end of the pickle. They said otherwise an enzyme is released that causes the pickle to soften. We did it with ours, but are still waiting to try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Got me started. Here is the perfect base to make uncountable number of pickles variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States