Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is a knock-your-socks-off dill pickle recipe. I couldn't find the dill heads, just sprigs. But we made it last summer with the cukes from my 6 year old's garden. We ate a couple jars after 8 weeks, but then forgot about the other jars in the pantry until this summer. WOOH!!! When we at them this summer they were fantastic! Very strong flavour that everyone loved. We're making a lot more this year to accomodate all the requests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
First, this is great recipe. I've been using it a couple of years and have never had a jar go bad or taste bad. In reading some of the reviews I see people complaining about soft pickles. So, I wanted to point out a couple items. (These items are also listed in older reviews.) 1. You need to use pickling cucumbers. The ones you buy in a grocery store ARE NOT pickling cucumbers. Go to a farmers market and order you cucumbers. 2. Also cut off 1/8" of the blossom end of the cucumber. The enzymes located there can cause soft pickles. You can leave a short piece of vine at the other end. Do this even if you are quartering the cucumbers. 3. The hot bath / processing time is way to long. (Required by lawyers:) Read through some of the older reviews about processing times. 4. Use only pickling salt. Period! Again this is a great recipe. I add additional items to mine to my own taste. But make this recipe once (you'll love them), then adjust to get your own "specialty pickles"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This recipe is amazing, everyone keeps asking for more jars of my pickles! Soaking the cucumbers in ice really made the pickles crisp. I will definitely save this recipe and use it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I wasn't overly found of this recipe but everybody in the family loved them. We made a 24 jars in october and their all gone...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Kandy Maims Desormeaux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very good flavor, but discolored and went soft after a month or so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Craig, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I've used this recipe for years and the result is great tasting pickles everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
These are the best pickles ever. Made them for the first time and have received several compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
This is my first attempt at Dill Pickles, yum!!! I sliced some and left most whole. I will be putting them out for Thanksgiving on the "pickle platter". Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was our first time making pickles, we LOVED, LOVED, LOVED them!! The only thing we would have done different was add more garlic and dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
this is the best pickle recipe i have ever come across!! im so happy with it ,the pickles are crisp and crunchy . i have been canning for years and have not in all my years found one that gives me crisp pickles !my family loves them and so do i , i will use this recipe and only this recipe as long as i am able to can pickles ! i cannot say enough about it, ITS GREAT !! THANK YOU SHARON !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 311) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States