Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
We got a deal on a crate of pickling cucumbers and huge bags of fresh dill and garlic. We canned 48 quart jars and a few as refrigerator pickles. This recipe is perfect - only change was we added a couple of hot peppers to each jar. One thing to remember it to cut a slice off the blossom ends so pickles stay crisp. Enzymes in this part of the cuke causes softness over time. Simple and straightforward recipe - if you never canned pickles before then this is a great place to start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Greetings from Argentina! I´ve tried this recipe with great results :) Now I´m at my parens farm, just picked som cucumber from the garden and they´re ready to become pickles :) Thanks for sharing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Good recipe, but we added alum to each jar to keep them crisp. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Horse Shoe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I use 3 1/2 cups white vinegar and 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar in each batch instead, and add either a jalapeno or habanero to each jar. All our friends loves these pickles and ask for jars each year. Have also used this solution with reduced amount of salt to can sliced jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is a fantastic pickle recipe!!! I have not had luck with making pickles and had given up making them until now. I followed this recipe and the suggestions below. I made dill, kosher and jalapeno versions. All I can say is that every jar that we've opened has been a winner and have gotten rave reviews. I will definitely be making these again next year AND will be doubling the recipe because the ones that I made this year will not last the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
HELP !! Why is it when I follow this exact recipe, my pickles are soft? Is there a difference in timing when I am making baby dills (very small) I am so frustrated! 2 batches of 15 jars - lost :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
I have made this recipe for a number of years and it is very good. My mother-in-law said to put a grape leaf in the bottom of the jar to help add "CRUNCH". This works every time! Also, I make sure that the brine is boiling when I add it to the jars. I also add 10 minutes to the processing time because I use 1/2 gallon jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by John H
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I've been making these pickles for three years now. I grow all my own ingredients. The recipe is fine as written and you don't need to change it. Naturally, we all do that anyhow. What I do, that I learned from others, is chop the flower ends off of the cukes so that they stay firm and crunchy, and I add a small grape leaf (wash first) for the same purpose - the results are great. I don't add chemical astringents. Sometimes I add a little pickling spice for a change, or a hot pepper in the jar for a little zip. I use fresh dill heads ALWAYS, but you can substitute I guess. Never had a failure. I eat them every day, give the pickles as gifts, have tastings with the kids, compare batches like wine vintages. It's fun. I haven't bought a jar of pickles in a two years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Douglaston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is a knock-your-socks-off dill pickle recipe. I couldn't find the dill heads, just sprigs. But we made it last summer with the cukes from my 6 year old's garden. We ate a couple jars after 8 weeks, but then forgot about the other jars in the pantry until this summer. WOOH!!! When we at them this summer they were fantastic! Very strong flavour that everyone loved. We're making a lot more this year to accomodate all the requests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
First, this is great recipe. I've been using it a couple of years and have never had a jar go bad or taste bad. In reading some of the reviews I see people complaining about soft pickles. So, I wanted to point out a couple items. (These items are also listed in older reviews.) 1. You need to use pickling cucumbers. The ones you buy in a grocery store ARE NOT pickling cucumbers. Go to a farmers market and order you cucumbers. 2. Also cut off 1/8" of the blossom end of the cucumber. The enzymes located there can cause soft pickles. You can leave a short piece of vine at the other end. Do this even if you are quartering the cucumbers. 3. The hot bath / processing time is way to long. (Required by lawyers:) Read through some of the older reviews about processing times. 4. Use only pickling salt. Period! Again this is a great recipe. I add additional items to mine to my own taste. But make this recipe once (you'll love them), then adjust to get your own "specialty pickles"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States