Dill Pickles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Ours weren't as crunchy as we'd hoped but that's probably because we didn't use a special type of cucumber. We had a bountiful harvest this year and used the excess for this recipe. We were already opening the jars after 2 weeks and they were fabulous. We had many jars to play around with; adding onions & red pepper flakes. Good stuff. We (including our 2 year old) even ate the pickled onions & garlic straight from the jars. (BTW, the smaller your cucumbers are, the crunchier they will be.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I just tried this recipe this evening. It looked and sounded delicious; however, the garlic cloves turned a shade of blue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
I've used this recipe for the 3rd year in a row now and it has yet to fail me! Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Wow, if I would have had this recipe years ago, I would be neck deep in pickles every year!! These are as fantastic as everyone before me has said. I did not process them in a hot water bath. I did as one other member suggested and inverted the jars as they were filled and covered them all with a blanket overnight. In the morning they were all sealed. I had enough brine and cukes left to make a pint of spears. I knew I would want to taste these before 8 weeks so I put them in the fridge and could only hold out for two days. OMG so so good, and crisp! Thanks for a fantastic recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Poland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
Can you use wedges instead of whole pickles?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
great recipe, and the top reviews really make it shine. To have crisper pickles, use LOTS of ice and keep replenishing, but ALSO weigh the pickles down in the sink with something heavy. this will ensure that they don't float, which is a big cause of soft pickles since they don't benefit from the cold bath as much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Just made 27 jars and these pickles are amazing. I experimented with a teaspoon of hot crushed peppers in some jars, and a sliced jalapeno in other jars. Both added a "zing" and tasted fantastic! Tried them just after two weeks - seemed ready!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
I used this recipe last year and made 100 pounds of pickles. They all turned out perfect! My Dad said they were the best pickles he'd ever had and he was raised on a farm!! My 3 teenage boys and their friends ate them all within two months once they were ready. I did a lot of research on canning pickles. I used Sharon's original recipe and did not process them in a canner. I inverted them in a shallow pan of boiling water (just covering the rim) for 7 minutes. Every single jar sealed. This is how my Grandmother processed her pickles. I mixed things up and did some spicy, some garlic and others with a lot of different spices. I think the most important thing I came across when I was reading the entire internet was to use only good cuks...no spots and cut off the blossom tail. It makes the pickles mushy. My garlic also turned blue at first...then they looked normal. I'm going to do 150 pounds this year. Hopefully they'll last longer!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
These are wonderful! My 5yr old loves helping make these and marking the jars for the 8 weeks when they will be ready. I did add extra garlic to each jar b/c we love garlic but other than that I did everything as the recipe calls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
The taste was wonderful. I am sure I will be making them again. I just wish that the cold ice water would have helped the pickles stay crispy. But it didn't. I may try soaking them in alum, then rinsing the pickles next time to see if that helps. I did make one change to the recipe. I used garlic scabs instead of whole garlic since I had them on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States